Virginia Medical Marijuana Frequently Asked Questions

 

Virginia Medical Marijuana FAQ

Medical marijuana can be a very effective solution for patients who struggle with chronic health conditions. The state of Virginia has legalized marijuana for both medical and recreational use, and it’s normal to have questions before you get started. Here are some of the most frequently asked questions about Virginia marijuana laws and restrictions. 

  • Is medical marijuana legal in Virginia?

    Is weed legal in Virginia? The history of medical marijuana in Virginia is different from most other US states. The Virginia government legalized medical marijuana in 1979 to treat glaucoma or to manage the side effects of chemotherapy. However, very few patients were actually prescribed medical marijuana in the 1980s and 1990s due to conflicts with federal law and a lack of a distribution mechanism. 

    The Virginia government implemented mechanisms for medical marijuana distribution in 1998, although there still were not any formal dispensaries in place. In 2015, Virginia voted to expand medical marijuana treatment to include those with epilepsy. The state started a more formal medical marijuana program in 2018, which is when the first medical dispensaries in Virginia started to open. At this point, the state expanded the program to include more medical conditions. 

    Marijuana has become even more accessible in Virginia in recent years due to decriminalization and eventual legalization. However, eligible patients can still get a Virginia MMJ card, which allows you to purchase higher quantities of marijuana at a lower tax rate. 

  • What conditions qualify for medical marijuana in Virginia?

    In order to get a medical marijuana card in Virginia, you will need to have a qualifying condition that a doctor believes could benefit from a medical marijuana prescription. This allows for some flexibility when it comes to getting your medical marijuana card. Some of the most common conditions for medical marijuana prescriptions in Virginia include cancer, fibromyalgiaCrohn’s diseaseParkinson’s disease, Huntington’s disease, and many others. 

  • How do I get a medical marijuana card in Virginia?

    If you have a condition that you think may qualify for a medical card, you may be wondering how to get a medical card in Virginia in 2021. You’ll need to start by going online to the Virginia Department of Health Professions website, where you will submit your initial patient application, proof of residency, and the application fee of $50. 

    The next step is to get a certification from a doctor who is registered with the Virginia medical marijuana program, which you can do in-person or using a telehealth service like Elevate Holistics. Once your Virginia medical marijuana doctor has verified that you qualify for a medical card, they will write you a certification, which you can submit to the state to complete your application. Keep in mind that not every doctor is registered or willing to prescribe medical marijuana in Virginia, so you will need to find one who is. 

    It typically takes the state of Virginia around 30 days to process your medical marijuana card. Once they have processed your card, you can access a copy online, which you can use to start visiting the Virginia dispensary right away. 

  • Does Virginia have medical marijuana reciprocity?

    If you live in another state but spend a lot of time in Virginia, you may be wondering if Virginia offers reciprocity for people who have medical marijuana cards. Unfortunately, Virginia does not yet offer medical marijuana reciprocity. However, the state recently did legalized recreational marijuana for those over the age of 21. Once recreational dispensaries are set up in Virginia, you can purchase cannabis products there, albeit in smaller quantities. 

    However, there are some other states that offer medical marijuana reciprocity and will accept a medical card from Virginia. The most notable states nearby that offer medical marijuana reciprocity include Rhode Island, New Jersey, and Maine, although there are several others spread throughout the country. If you are interested in purchasing or consuming marijuana in another state, be sure to look up their laws before you visit to avoid severe penalties. 

  • Can you grow weed in Virginia?

    Patients who consume large quantities of marijuana can often benefit from growing their own plants. The rules for growing marijuana in Virginia have expanded recently with the new recreational legalization. This means that anyone over the age of 21 can grow up to four plants at their primary residence. 

    Each plant must be hidden from public view, stored securely, and tagged with the name and driver’s license number of the owner. There has been some confusion about this new grow law among residents, as the purchase of seeds is still illegal. We can expect some clarification on this matter as recreational dispensaries eventually open up. 

  • Are there any medical marijuana dispensaries in Virginia?

    Yes, there are plenty of Virginia dispensary locations for medical marijuana cardholders. Right now, the state is divided into five zones, with two dispensaries in each zone. This means there are 10 total medical marijuana dispensaries. Most of these dispensaries are located in major cities or towns to make them more accessible to patients. 

  • Is marijuana legal in Virginia for recreational use?

    Yes, the state of Virginia opted to legalize marijuana for recreational use in mid-2021. This means that anyone over the age of 21 can possess small amounts of marijuana for recreational use without legal penalties. However, the program has had a slow start – right now, legislators are saying that the first recreational dispensaries won’t open until 2024. However, marijuana advocates are already pushing to expedite this timeline, so we could see things change as the law goes into effect. Right now, having a medical marijuana card is the easiest way to get the cannabis products you need in Virginia. 

  • Can I go to a dispensary without a card in Virginia?

    Right now, you cannot visit a dispensary in Virginia without a medical card. However, we can expect this to change in the future as recreational dispensaries begin to open. Right now, it’s important to make sure you’re following Virginia’s current laws to avoid any legal consequences. 

  • How old do you have to be to buy marijuana?

    When Virginia’s new recreational marijuana law takes full effect, you will have to be over the age of 21 to buy, possess, or grow marijuana. However, you can get a medical marijuana card at the age of 18 if you have one of the qualifying conditions. 

    Additionally, children under the age of 18 who have a qualifying medical condition can purchase medical marijuana with a caregiver. Virginia calls caregivers “registered agents”. These registered agents can purchase marijuana for up to two different patients. A registered agent will need to apply along with the patient and pay a $25 registration fee. 

  • How much does medical marijuana cost?

    The cost of medical marijuana is going to vary depending on the dispensary you buy from and the type of products that you are buying. Each dispensary can set its own prices, so you may want to shop around to see which products fit your budget the best. The pricing for medical marijuana in Virginia is fairly high right now, but we can expect to see prices become more stable as the recreational law takes effect and more dispensaries open up.

  • Are edibles legal in Virginia?

    Yes, medical marijuana patients can purchase edibles in Virginia at local dispensaries. Edibles are a great option for patients who do not like smoking or vaping, but still want the benefits of cannabis. There are many different types of edibles to choose from these days, so you can find one that best suits your needs. The staff at your local dispensary can help you select the edible products that make the most sense for your needs. 

  • How much marijuana can I possess in Virginia?

    Under the new recreational laws in Virginia, residents can possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana without any penalties, even if they do not have a medical card. Having more than this amount of marijuana or attempting to distribute it could result in legal penalties. 

    However, patients with a medical marijuana card can possess much more marijuana to treat their medical conditions. Medical patients can purchase up to 4 ounces of marijuana every 30 days. There is also some leeway for even higher amounts if the prescribing physician believes that the patient needs more to treat their condition. 

  • Is CBD oil legal in Virginia?

    Yes, CBD products derived from hemp are legal on a federal level, which means you can purchase them throughout the United States. You can purchase CBD oil in Virginia at many smoke shops and stores designed specifically to sell CBD. CBD is a component of the cannabis plant that has a relaxing effect but does not cause a sensation of being “high”, which has made it very popular. However, it’s important to note that CBD isn’t as highly regulated as THC products, so you will need to make sure that the items you are purchasing are safe to use. 

Find out if you qualify for a medical card

Approval in 30-minutes or less!

Find Out Today