Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is low-THC oil legal in Georgia?

    In Georgia, low-THC oil is legal only if it abides by three regulations:

    • The low-THC oil must be 20 fl oz. or less in size
    • The person in possession of the oil must be registered with and carrying their state-issued registration card
    • The low-THC oil must be placed in a pharmaceutical-grade bottle that clearly demonstrates the percentage of THC within the product

  • How do I get a low-THC registry card in Georgia?

    After speaking with a licensed physician, you can register through the Georgia Department of Public Health. They have detailed information right on their website to help guide you through the process. 

  • Who qualifies for a low-THC registry card?

    In order to qualify for a low-THC registry card in the state of Georgia, you must fall under one of three categories:

    • A person aged 18 or older who has at least one qualifying medical condition
    • The legal guardians of an adult who has at least one qualifying medical condition
    • The legal guardians of a minor who has at least one qualifying medical condition 

  • What are Georgia’s qualifying medical conditions?

    The following are the medical conditions that qualify you for a low-THC registry card:

    • Cancer: diagnosis is either end-stage or the current treatment produces wasting illness or constant nausea and vomiting
    • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS): diagnosis is either severe or end-stage
    • Epilepsy or trauma-related seizure disorders 
    • Multiple sclerosis: diagnosis is either severe or end-stage
    • Crohn’s disease
    • Mitochondrial disease
    • Parkinson’s disease: diagnosis is either severe or end-stage
    • Sickle cell disease: diagnosis is either severe or end-stage
    • Tourette syndrome: diagnosis is severe 
    • Autism spectrum disorder: when the patient is 18 years or older, or if the patient is less than 18 and diagnosed with severe autism
    • Epidermolysis bullosa
    • Alzheimer’s disease: diagnosis is severe or end-stage
    • AIDS: symptoms are severe or end-stage
    • Peripheral neuropathy: symptoms are severe or end-stage
    • Current inpatient or outpatient hospice program
    • Intractable pain 
    • PTSD stemming from direct exposure or witnessing of trauma for someone at least 18 years of age

  • Where can I buy low-THC oil in Georgia?

    Currently, any medical cannabis oil is not yet available for purchase in the state. Medical marijuana licensing and regulation is overseen by the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission, but they do not sell or prescribe low-THC oil. Once the Commission can issue the proper licenses, this will change.

  • How do Georgia’s cannabis laws compare to other legalized states?

    Georgia’s cannabis laws are much stricter and significantly more limited than other states’ marijuana laws across the country. While many states allow for the cultivation, sale, and possession of cannabis in flower form, Georgia does not. These laws were created solely to ensure that those with low-THC oil registry cards do not receive criminal prosecution if possessed correctly.

    It’s important to note that Georgia also does not permit the manufacture or consumption of any food products infused with low-THC oil, nor do they allow inhalation—smoking, vaping, or vapor—of the oil. Unlike other states, Georgia’s cannabis laws prohibit physicians from prescribing cannabis for medical-related use. 

  • What if I have cannabis registration from a different state?

    You can only use an out-of-state registry if your state-issued card allows the same possession of low-THC oil as Georgia does and if you have been in the state of Georgia for less than 45 days. Every cannabis program will vary.

  • What is the difference between “medical cannabis” and “medical marijuana”?

    Technically, the term “cannabis” encompasses both hemp and marijuana, while marijuana is exclusively referring to the psychoactive plant. In legal terms, then, “medical cannabis” refers to states like Georgia that allow for low-THC oil possession, but prohibit the cultivation, possession, and consumption of marijuana itself. Because of this, Georgia is not considered a “medical marijuana” state. 

  • Is marijuana legal for sale and possession in Georgia?

    No. The state specifically legalized low-THC oils, not marijuana products. Marijuana-based products like flower, vapes, and edibles are illegal in the state, and possession is punishable by law. The only cannabis product you can legally obtain is low-THC oil, and you must have a proper registration card to purchase. 

  • Can I sell medical marijuana in Georgia?

    No. Only businesses licensed by the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission may grow medical cannabis for low-THC oil, and only licensed dispensaries can sell such product. Any other person or business trying to sell medical marijuana is a violation of both state and federal law. 

  • Who oversees hemp growing in Georgia?

    The Georgia Department of Agriculture oversees and regulates licensing for all industrial hemp in the state of Georgia.