Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is medical cannabis legal in Massachusetts? What about recreational cannabis?

    Yes, both medical and recreational cannabis are legal in Massachusetts.

  • How do you register for a medical marijuana card?

    To obtain a medical card in Mass., you have to register through the Medical Use of Marijuana Program online.

  • What are the state’s qualifying conditions?

    On top of being an in-state resident, to get your medical card in the Pilgrim State, you also have to have at least one of the following qualifying medical conditions:

     

    • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) or Lou Gehrig’s disease
    • Cancer
    • Crohn’s disease
    • Glaucoma
    • Hepatitis C
    • HIV/AIDS
    • Multiple sclerosis 
    • Parkinson’s disease

     

    If your condition isn’t on this list, your physician may still write you a recommendation if they believe your condition is debilitating enough for medical cannabis. 

  • What is the application process like?

    The process of applying for your medical cannabis card in Massachusetts is similar to that of many other states. First, you have to start by meeting with an approved physician to see if you have one of the qualifying medical conditions in the program. 

     

    Once the doctor approves you for cannabis, they will provide you with a personal identification number (PIN) needed to register online. Along with this PIN, you’ll also need a state-issued ID of some sort to prove in-state residency. Once you’ve done this, you will wait for approval and receive your card in the mail 1-2 weeks later. 

  • How long is the card valid for?

    The ID cards themselves are valid for three years. However, you do have to re-register with the medical marijuana program each year.

  • Where do medical patients purchase cannabis?

    Medical patients will purchase their medical cannabis from licensed dispensaries across the state. Massachusetts calls these dispensaries Registered Marijuana Dispensaries, or RMDs.

  • What are the possession limits for cannabis in Massachusetts?

    For medical patients, you can purchase up to a 60-day supply of cannabis at once, though this supply only extends up to 10 ounces unless your doctor has stated otherwise. 

     

    Non-medical patients, however, can purchase up to an ounce (or five grams of concentrates) from licensed dispensaries.

  • Where can you consume cannabis?

    You can only consume your medical cannabis in private residences such as your home. Cannabis consumption of any kind in a public space is illegal in Massachusetts and can be punishable by law.

  • Can you grow cannabis at home?

    Yes! Any person 21 years or older can grow up to six plants themselves, with a limit of 12 plants per household. Make sure these plants are kept in safe, secure areas that cannot be seen by the public eye.

  • Does Massachusetts offer reciprocity for out-of-state medical cards?

    No, out-of-state medical patients cannot purchase medical cannabis in Massachusetts.

  • Does Massachusetts require lab testing for their cannabis products?

    Yes, the state of Massachusetts requires that all cannabis products be tested and screened for hazardous materials like heavy metals, pesticides, solvents, plant growth regulators, and more.