Medical Marijuana Utah Frequently Asked Questions
Learn more about MMJ and how Elevate Holistics can help you obtain an MMJ card in minutes. Money back guaranteed.
The Utah marijuana laws are fairly simple to understand, however, there is some confusion surrounding certain areas of the Utah medical cannabis program and Proposition 2 in Utah.
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Utah?
Yes, medical marijuana has been legal in Utah since 2018. You can purchase various forms of medical marijuana from dispensaries such as flowers, tablets, capsules, concentrated oil, liquid suspension, transdermal preparation, gelatinous cube, and wax or resin.
You are limited to purchasing a certain amount of cannabis products within a 30-day period. Within this 30-day period, qualifying patients are able to purchase and may not exceed the following amounts:
- 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); and
- 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.
And if you are caught with possession of more than the following amounts that exceed the 30-day dosing amount you can be charged with a misdemeanor.
Is Recreational Marijuana Legal in Utah?
Recreational marijuana in Utah is illegal. If you are found in possession of recreational marijuana Utah considers this to be a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the amount if you do not have a Medical Marijuana card.
How Do I Get a Medical Card in Utah?
In order to get a medical marijuanas card in Utah, you’ll need to be a Utah resident and have at least one medical marijuana qualifying medical condition that will need to be certified by a qualified medical professional.
At Elevate Holistics we offer telehealth services. You can get certified from the comfort of your own home.
Once your condition has been certified you can create your account and apply for a Medical Cannabis Card online. When applying for your medical marijuana card, you’ll need to submit certain documents electronically in order to qualify using a valid email address. You’ll need to submit a digital copy of a valid photo ID proving you’re a Utah resident – a driver’s license, a state ID card, a US passport, or a military ID.
It will cost you $15 to apply for your Utah medical card and it may take up to two weeks for you to receive your card in the mail once your application is approved.
What Are the Qualifying Conditions for a Medical Card in Utah?
The qualifying conditions under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act are listed below:
- HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Alzheimer’s disease
- amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment
- Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
- epilepsy or debilitating seizures
- multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
- post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist
- a terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months
- a condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
- pain that lasts longer than two weeks and is not adequately managed
Is CBD Legal in Utah?
Yes, CBDs and CBD oil in Utah are legal as long as the products contain less than 0.3% THC. If the products contain more than this amount you will need to have your Utah medical card to purchase the products.
The following types of CBD products have been approved by the state:
- Oral liquids
- Concentrated Oil
- Rectangular or Cubed Gummies
- Sublingual Oils
Are Edibles Legal in Utah?
Edibles are not legal in Utah. The only forms of medical marijuana allowed under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act are tablet, capsule, concentrated oil, liquid suspension, transdermal preparation, gelatinous cube, and unprocessed cannabis flower in a blister pack with no more than one gram of flower pods in each individual blister, and Wax or resin.
Does Utah Have Marijuana Dispensaries?
Yes, marijuana dispensaries are found in Utah. However, there are not many throughout the state. There have been 15 medical cannabis pharmacy licenses by the Utah Department of Health and Human Services. And you are able to purchase your medical marijuana products from any Utah dispensary as you are not assigned to anyone in particular. If you are not a Utah resident but have a medical cannabis card from another state you are allowed to purchase from a Utah dispensary. But you must have one of the qualifying conditions that is listed in the Utah law.
What Doctors can Prescribe Medical Marijuana in Utah?
You can find a list of medical providers on the Utah Department of Health (UDOH) website. Medical providers must register with the UDOH as Qualified Medical Providers (QMPs). These doctors can specialize in all types of specialties – Utah-licensed medical doctor (MD), osteopathic physician (DO), advanced practice registered nurse (ARPN), doctor of podiatric medicine (DPM), or physician assistant (PA) with a Utah-controlled substance license.
Can You Get Your Medical Card Under 18 Years Old?
Yes, patients under 18 years old can get a medical card. However, the application will be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board and the minor cannot get a medical cannabis card without their parent or legal guardian. The parent or legal guardian will need to obtain a medical cannabis guardian card.
The Compassionate Use Board is a board of seven providers that will review all card applications from patients under the age of 21. This is done on a case-by-case basis before any medical cannabis card can be issued you’ll need to submit your medical cannabis card application, petition the Board, and wait for it to be approved by the Board and the Utah Department of Health.
Here are the two cards – guardian cards, and provisional patient cards.
Guardian Cards: As a parent or legal guardian of a minor are able to obtain these cards in order for the minor to consume medical cannabis. These cards are issued in conjunction with provisional patient cards.
Provisional Patient Cards: If a minor under the age of 18 meets certain eligibility requirements they are able to consume medical cannabis. These are issued in conjunction with guardian cards. It will require approval from the Compassionate Use Board.
Here’s how to apply for a Medical cannabis guardian card for patients younger than 18:
STEP 1: Set up an appointment with Elevate Holistics or another medical provider to get recommended for medical cannabis.
STEP 2: Create your account in the Guardian’s name, by going to id.utah.gov.
STEP 3: Review the EVS user guide and start the online application. You’ll need a Utah state ID card.
STEP 4: Once your guardian profile is completed in the EVS you’ll be in “awaiting certification” status. The qualified medical professional will then enter their certification and recommendation.
STEP 5: You’ll then be able to pay the medical cannabis card application fee online by returning to the patient’s guardian profile in the EVS.
STEP 6: The medical records for treatment related to the condition will need to be uploaded online for the Compassionate Use Board Petition.
STEP 7: The guardian will need to complete the background check forms. Once the payment has been received the Department of Health will contact guardians via email to begin the background check process.
STEP 8: DHHS will review the medical cannabis card application as well as the medical cannabis guardian card application to confirm that all of the requirements have been met. For minor patients younger than age 18, this process can take 90 days or less to be completed. This takes longer because it must be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board.
STEP 9: Providing that all requirements have been met, you can expect that the DHHS will issue the medical cannabis guardian card and the provisional patient card. You can expect to receive both the patient’s guardian card and their minor’s provisional patient card by email. You are able to save this in your email or print them out.
STEP 10: Now the patient’s guardian is able to purchase medical cannabis from a licensed medical cannabis pharmacy. When you go to purchase medical cannabis, you’ll need to bring your patient’s guardian cannabis card along with a valid form of photo identification. This can be a driver’s license, passport, or state-issued ID.
Can I Grow My Own Weed in Utah?
No, you cannot grow weed in the state of Utah. Growing weed in Utah with or without a medical marijuana patient’s card is not permitted. And depending on the amount of marijuana you are found growing you will be faced with a misdemeanor or felony charge for possession. All patients must purchase cannabis from a state-licensed dispensary.
How Much Would a Medical Cannabis Card Cost in Utah?
When you first create an account with the Utah Department of Health and Services, you’ll be required to pay an initial fee of $15. The renewal fee is $15 and you’ll need to renew your card every six months.
There is also a fee associated with medical marijuana doctor visits. This consultation fee will vary depending on the doctor. At Elevate Holistics we offer affordable online appointments starting at $75 per session.
Here are the costs of the different MMJ cards:
- Patient Card (initial): $15
- Patient Card (six-month renewal): $15
- Guardian Card (initial): $68.25
- Guardian Card (six-month renewal): $24
- Caregiver Card (initial): $68.25
- Caregiver Card (six-month renewal): $14
- Non-Utah Resident Card (initial & renewal): $15
How Much Weed can I Possess in Utah?
In Utah, medical marijuana patients are legally allowed to possess up to two ounces of useable cannabis flower, as well as an additional four grams of marijuana extract. The usable flower includes the buds or flowers of the marijuana plant and does not include seeds, stalks, stems or roots. The extract must be in a form approved by the Utah Department of Health.
Patients are also allowed to possess up to 16 ounces of a cannabis-infused edible product that contains no more than 10 milligrams of THC per serving, and 72 ounces of cannabis-infused liquid product with no more than three milligrams of THC per serving.
Patients may also have in their possession up to seven plants, three of which can be mature and flowering at any given time. Furthermore, if they have been prescribed medical cannabis by their healthcare provider they are permitted to cultivate an additional six plants for personal use only.
How Much in State Taxes Will I Pay for Weed in Utah?
Patients purchasing medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary in Utah are subject to a 4.70% sales tax, as well as state and local taxes that vary depending on the county of purchase. In addition, medical marijuana patients pay an extra 0.0025% in medical cannabis assessment fees, which are used to fund research, monitoring, and related programs regarding medical marijuana use in the state. Thus, the total amount of taxes and fees paid by medical marijuana patients can range anywhere from 4.70%-7%, depending on the location of purchase. For example, Salt Lake County charges 6.85%, while San Juan County has one of the lowest rates at 4.70%.
Do you qualify for a medical card?
Approval in 30-minutes or less!