Frequently Asked Questions

  • Are Maryland medical cannabis patients and caregivers protected against federal prosecution?

    Possession and use of medical cannabis is still a violation of the federal Controlled Substances Act. Your MD MMJ card does not shield you from federal law. However, federal budget legislation since 2014 has consistently blocked the U.S. Department of Justice from interfering with state MMJ programs. It’s even held up in court — for individuals who comply with their state’s laws.

  • Are patients required to pay for a Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC) card?

    Yes. As of January 1, 2019, all new patients must purchase an MMCC card for $50. They expire in 3 years.

  • Can a medical cannabis patient legally own or possess a firearm?

    No. Federal law bars medical cannabis patients from purchasing or possessing firearms. Your patient information with the MMCC is considered confidential and protected. However, the Maryland State Police follow guidelines to ask people trying to purchase firearms if they are an MMJ patient and will bar you from making the transaction if you admit that you are. Providing false information when purchasing a firearm is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of as much as $250,000.

  • How do I get a certification?

    A patient needs a visit with a registered provider with whom the patient has a “bona fide provider-patient relationship”. If the patient meets the provider’s criteria, the provider will issue a certification.

    Remember, before you see a provider, you must first be registered with MMCC and have received an approval email with your patient ID number, which you will need to take to the provider. It can take 30 days or more to get your approval email after applying.

    The provider must be registered before the certification visit. Because of COVID-19, patients may now get certification through telehealth—a video consultation with a registered provider through an online clinic such as Elevate Holistics.

  • Q – What is a “bona fide provider-patient relationship”?

    According to Maryland law, it is a treatment or counseling relationship between a provider and a patient in which the provider reviews and assesses the necessary past and present condition of the patient and considers their future treatment program.

  • What do I do after the certification?

    You may go to any licensed dispensary to buy medical cannabis.
    Using your patient ID number, the provider will enter you into the MMCC database. After you receive your written certification, but before you visit a dispensary, you must print a temporary MMCC ID. Show this to the dispensary. They will check it against the Commission before you can make a transaction.

  • How long will it take to get a certification?

    If you meet the provider’s criteria after your visit, the provider can issue your certification immediately.

  • What are the conditions or diseases for getting certified?

    A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition that causes: cachexia, anorexia, wasting syndrome, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms
    glaucoma
    post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
    another chronic medical condition which is severe and for which other treatments have been ineffective

  • Where do I get my medical cannabis?

    Only from a Maryland-licensed dispensary.
    If you do not purchase from a dispensary within 120 days, your provider certification will automatically expire.

  • How much cannabis can I purchase today?

    Your certification shows the amount of dried flower and THC that the you may purchase in a 30-day period. The limit is calculated as a ROLLING 30-day limit—not by calendar month.

    The standard amount is 120 grams of dried flower or 36 grams of a THC product. A provider can prescribe more or less than these amounts. See the MMCC’s cannabis purchase amounts page for more details.

  • How can I get an ID card?

    Once you apply through the MMCC website, have been approved, and then get a provider certification, you may order your MMCC ID card through your account on the MMCC website.

  • What if my ID card is lost, stolen, or damaged?

    You must log in to your MMCC account and report it. There will be a replacement card cost of $100.​

  • Where can I legally travel with medical cannabis?

    Anywhere in Maryland except federal government property. Taking medical cannabis across state lines is a federal offense. Maryland state laws do not authorize you to travel to other states, jurisdictions or countries with this medicine.

  • How many caregivers can I have?

    Two. They must be at least 21. Your caregiver may be a family member.

  • Can a patient or caregiver cultivate cannabis for the patient?

    No. Maryland does not allow home cultivation.

  • Can a child legally get medical cannabis?

    Yes, if they meet a provider’s criteria. At least one parent or guardian must act as their caregiver, though.

  • – Can veterans get medical cannabis?

    Veterans can obtain medical cannabis in the same way as other patients, but not from the Veterans Affairs health system. Veterans need to confirm through the office of Veteran Affairs that they are permitted to use medical cannabis as part of their certified provider recommendation without consequence to their current position or health care system.

  • Is there financial relief for patients who can afford medical cannabis?

    Dispensaries may decide to provide financial relief for patients.

  • What if I change my mailing address?

    A patient should notify the MMCC within 3 days of address change.

  • What if I want to use a different dispensary?

    Go for it. You can use any licensed dispensary of your choice. They all use the same MMCC database.

  • What happens if I am stopped by law enforcement?

    You do not have to disclose that you have medical cannabis on you or consent to a search. If it is found on you, you simply present your ID or have the officer check the patient database.

  • Will health insurance cover medical cannabis?

    Health insurance is not required to cover the cost of MMJ.

  • What fees do I have to pay the MMCC for a medical card?

    $50 at time of registration.

  • How do I register as a patient or caregiver?

    By submitting an application through the website.

  • Are there reduced fees for seniors?

    No. 🙁

  • Do Maryland dispensaries recognize other state ID cards?

    No. 🙁

  • Can you provide me with information about replacing opioids with medical cannabis for chronic pain?

    No. This is a medical question for a physician, not the MMCC.

  • Can my employer test and/or fire me for medical cannabis?

    Maryland law does not prevent an employer from testing for use of cannabis (for any reason) or taking action against an employee who tests positive for use of cannabis (for any reason). ​

  • When will edibles and/or additional conditions be added to the program?

    There is no plan to add either at this time.