New Jersey became the 14th state to legalize medical marijuana when the legislature passed the Compassionate Use of Medical Marijuana Act in January 2010. 

In the November 2020 elections, voters approved the Marijuana Legalization Amendment, and recreational marijuana also became legal in February 2021 when Governor Phil Murphy signed the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization Act in response to the ballot initiative of the previous year.

Since marijuana is fully legal in New Jersey — for medical and recreational use – the state has licensed dispensaries that cater to the needs of patients and recreational consumers.

We’ll tell you all about dispensaries in New Jersey, including recreational marijuana stores in New Jersey. 

dispensaries in new jersey

How Many Dispensaries are in New Jersey?

As of May 2022, there were 12 adult-use dispensaries in New Jersey, with five more set to open because they already have approval.

According to the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission, recreational marijuana brought in $24 million from 212,433 transactions in the first month of legal sales.

Jeff Brown, executive director of the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission, said, “This is only a beginning—it shows there’s a lot of growth in this market.”

New Jersey currently has 27 medical dispensaries known as Alternative Treatment Centers in various locations across the state.

READ MORE: New Jersey Dispensaries Continue to Expand  

Which Dispensaries are Recreational in New Jersey?

Medical dispensaries sell only to patients, so it is best to locate a recreational dispensary if you’re a recreational consumer. You can find the locations and addresses of recreational dispensaries here. 

New Jersey Marijuana Laws

We can’t get into medical marijuana without talking about the laws.

New Jersey marijuana laws are very important because they regulate marijuana use in the state. If you don’t obey these laws, you risk committing marijuana crimes and facing legal consequences.

So, let’s get into what the law says. 

New Jersey Possession Limit

Medical marijuana patients or their designated caregivers can buy 3 ounces in a 30-day period. However, this limit does not apply to terminally ill patients. 

In New Jersey, recreational users can buy one ounce of cannabis and cannabis products. 

What Forms of Marijuana are Available in New Jersey?

Dispensaries can sell dried flowers, concentrated oils, resin, tinctures, lozenges, soft chews, vape formulas, topicals, pills, tablets, capsules, transdermal, sublingual, and syringes. Edibles like cookies and brownies are not available. 

Where Can I Smoke Marijuana?

New Jersey’s Smoke-Free Air Act prohibits smoking in most public spaces, but you’re free to do so in private spaces like your home.

Note that landlords can prohibit cannabis use on their property, so you must be on the same page.

Can I Give Marijuana to Friends?

Recreational consumers can give another adult 21 years or older up to one ounce of cannabis free of charge without any form of payment or compensation. 

On the other hand, medical marijuana patients cannot share their medicine with anyone and should return all unused cannabis to the dispensary. 

dispensaries in new jersey

Does My Medical Marijuana Card Protect Me from Workplace Drug Rules?

New Jersey medical marijuanas laws do not have clear guidelines on medical marijuana patients and workplace drug policy. It is best to speak with your employers or lawyers specializing in employment law.

New Jersey Cannabis DUI

It is illegal for recreational and registered medical users to drive under the influence of marijuana. If New Jersey law enforcers catch you driving under the influence, you face fines and possible jail time.

Marijuana DUI penalties in New Jersey include:

  • A fine of between $300 and $500
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension of up to a year

Does Health Insurance and Medicaid Cover Medical Marijuana?

No, New Jersey Health plan does not cover medical marijuana.

However, you can talk with your insurer and find out if insurance covers visits to your doctor to treat the qualifying medical condition with medical marijuana. 

Does New Jersey Have Marijuana Reciprocity?

If you’re a medical marijuana patient from out of state who wants to buy medical marijuana in New Jersey, you’re in luck.

Medical marijuana patients from other states can get a temporary New Jersey patient registration. They will need to provide a valid copy of their registration in their home state and a valid photo ID card.

Note that these temporary IDs are valid for six months and are not renewable. 

Can I Grow Marijuana at Home?

No, New Jersey Marijuana law does not permit home cultivation for recreational users and patients.

Do I Need a Medical Card to Buy at a Dispensary in New Jersey?

Recreational marijuana is legal in New Jersey, so any adult aged 21 or older can buy marijuana from a licensed dispensary if they show a government-issued ID card.

However, recreational users can’t buy from medical marijuana dispensaries.

Also, patients who want to buy from a medical marijuana dispensary must present their medical cards.

Benefits of New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card

Since recreational marijuana is legal, why should you get a medical marijuana card in New Jersey?

As a patient registered in the Medicinal Cannabis Program (MCP), you enjoy exclusive benefits available to only registered patients. These benefits include:

  • Registered patients pay less for medical marijuana because sales tax does not apply, and dispensaries often offer promotions and discounts to only medical marijuana patients.
  • Patients have access to a wider product range.
  • Dispensaries prioritize medical marijuana patients over recreational users; if there’s a shortage of marijuana, medical patients come first.
  • Medical patients have a higher purchase limit. Patients can buy up to 3 ounces every 30 days, while recreational users can buy only 1 ounce.
  • Patients have a lower age limit of 18 compared to recreational marijuana, where the legal limit is 21.

We have explained all the benefits you enjoy as a medical marijuana patient here

dispensaries in New Jersey

Requirements for New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card

Now that you know the benefits of a medical marijuana card in New Jersey, we bet you’d love to register for the Medicinal Cannabis Program. The first thing you need to know is the requirements

  • You must be a New Jersey resident  
  • A New Jersey marijuana doctor must diagnose you with at least one qualifying condition
  • You must have a bona fide relationship with a registered New Jersey marijuana doctor. A patient-doctor relationship is bonafide if the doctor is responsible for the assessment, care, and treatment of a patient’s qualifying medical condition and:
    • The relationship is at least one year old
    • The patient has visited the doctor at least four times for the treatment or assessment of their qualifying medical condition.
    • The doctor is responsible for the patient’s treatment. 

We’ve outlined all the information on how to get your card, including the step-by-step application process here.

New Jersey Marijuana Patient Guidelines

The New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission has set the following guidelines for patients and caregivers. Even with your medical marijuana card, you need to adhere to the following guidelines.

  • Patients and caregivers should always have their proper identification with them, including their marijuana card.
  • Keep your medical marijuana in its original packaging. 
  • Authorities advise that you use medical marijuana only at home. 
  • Don’t use medical marijuana on federal property.
  • Don’t carry marijuana across state lines; it is a federal crime, and your medical marijuana card does not protect you from federal marijuana-related prosecution. 
  • Don’t share your medical marijuana with anyone; it is intended only for you.
  • Don’t drive any motorable vehicle or operate heavy equipment under the influence of marijuana.
  • It is best to keep your marijuana at home and transport it only if necessary.
  • Don’t smoke in a private vehicle in motion. 

How Much is an Ounce of Marijuana in New Jersey?

The price of marijuana in New Jersey varies by location and dispensary, but a 6.625% sales tax applies to recreational marijuana in all locations. 

Where Can You Buy Marijuana in New Jersey?

It is illegal and unsafe to buy marijuana from unlicensed sources. Hence, patients and recreational consumers should always buy marijuana from licensed dispensaries.

More so, licensed dispensaries are subject to strict safety procedures, so you can be sure of quality and safety when you buy from them. 

New Jersey Marijuana Dispensary Locations

New Jersey recreational marijuanas dispensary and medical dispensary locations are easy to find across the state. Click here to find a dispensary near you. 

Get Premium Marijuana Service With Elevate Holistics

Now that you know all about New Jersey medical marijuanas laws and the dispensaries across the state, you have the information you need to enjoy your marijuana without breaking the law.

So, are you ready to get a New Jersey medical card right from home? Simply book an appointment by clicking the link below and we'll help you get your NJ MMJ card 100% online, 100% hassle-free.