Is Marijuana Legal in Minnesota?

The North Star State is known for a lot of things, but what about its relationship with cannabis? Is marijuana legal in Minnesota in the first place?

Whether you’re visiting the Land of 10,000 Lakes or are planning to move there, if you’re a fan of cannabis, it’s important to understand the marijuana laws. This, way you know exactly what you can enjoy, where, and how much, without worrying about getting on the wrong side of the law.

Here, we’re taking a look at all things medical marijuana in Minnesota. No matter what you’re curious or apprehensive about, Elevate Holistics is here to let you know that getting your MMJ card in MN has never been so easy. Let’s get started.

So, is marijuana legal in Minnesota? Let’s find out.

  • Is Marijuana Legal in Minnesota for Medical Purposes?

    The answer is yes, but with strict regulations. Minnesota is one of the 37 states where marijuana is legal for medical purposes for licensed patients.

    In 2014, Minnesota legalized medical marijuana, making M.N. the 22nd state to permit cannabis for medical use.

    However, the 2014 bill Governor Mark Dayton signed into law to legalize medical marijuana approved only the treatment of nine severe medical conditions.

    The list of treatments included cancer, HIV/AIDS, glaucoma, ALS, Crohn’s disease, severe epilepsy, seizure disorder, Multiple Sclerosis, terminal illness, and Tourette’s syndrome.

    In addition, the bill initiated the Task Force on Medical Cannabis Therapeutic Research to evaluate the impact of marijuana in Minnesota.

    Back then, consuming marijuana in Minnesota meant through pills, oils, or vaping, as the law did not permit patients to smoke medical marijuana, even with a prescription.

    However, by 2021, the law expanded to accommodate the smoking of medical marijuana in Minnesota, and the Minnesota Department of Health created the Office of Medical Cannabis to implement the law.

  • What are the Medical Marijuana Laws in Minnesota in 2022?

    The laws concerning marijuana in Minnesota have evolved since the restrictive bill of 2014.

    As of August 2022, the state approved edibles containing no more than 0.3 percent of THC (the cannabidiol compound in weed that gives a high) for use in legislation that shocked Minnesota’s residents.

    The new law allows marijuana businesses in Minnesota to sell THC derivatives. It also permits adults 21 and older to purchase edible and drinkable products containing no more than 50 milligrams of THC per package and no more than five milligrams of THC per serving.

    The law doesn’t state between specific types of THC. Thus, Delta-8 THC products previously unrestricted due to a federal gap are now subject to Minnesota’s five-milligram serving limit.

    In addition, the 2022 MMJ in M.N. law allows products containing delta-9 THC. 

    LEARN MORE: What’s Up With Minnesota Marijuana? | Minnesota Medical Marijuana FAQs

  • Marijuana Possession Laws in Minnesota

    Marijuana in Minnesota is still federally classified as a schedule 1 drug. Therefore, possession, use, or cultivation of marijuana in Minnesota above certain limits remains a criminal offense.

    The limits and sanctions include the following:

    • If found possessing 42.5 g or less, the penalty for a first-time misdemeanor includes a maximum fine of $200.
    • Possessing more than 42.5 g but less than 10kg constitutes a felony with a penalty of up to 5 years jail time and a $10,000 fine.
    • Possession of 10kg less than 50 kg constitutes a felony with up to 20 years of jail time and a $250,000 fine.
    • If found with 50kg less than 100 kg, you’ll be charged with a felony, with a maximum sentence of 25 years and a $500,000 fine.
    • Possession of 100 kg or more constitutes a felony with a 30-year jail time and a $ 1,000,000 fine.
    • If carrying more than 1.4 grams inside one’s vehicle-except the trunk- constitutes a misdemeanor offense with a 90-day jail time and a fine of $1000.

  • Marijuana Distribution Laws in Minnesota

    Distribution of 42.5 grams or less without a fee is a misdemeanor with a penalty of a maximum fine of $200 (Offenders may be required to undergo a drug education course).

    Also, selling more than 42.5 grams – less than 5 kilograms constitutes a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000. Any subsequent conviction includes six months to 10-year jail time and a possible fine of $20,000.

     

    is marijuana legal in minnesota

     

    Selling marijuana to a minor is a felony with a penalty of a 20-year prison sentence and a maximum fine of $250,000.

    Distributing within a school zone or other prohibited areas is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment. It also carries a maximum fine of $100,000. Any further convictions have 1 – 30 years and a possible fine of not more than $100,000.

    To know more about the laws guiding marijuana in Minnesota, visit here

  • Qualifying Conditions for using Marijuana in Minnesota

    Initially, the listed qualifying conditions for using medical marijuana in Minnesota were limited to just nine illnesses.

    However, since 2016, the Medical Cannabis Review Panel has added more conditions to the list based on recommendations and public comments.

    The updated list as of 2022 includes:

  • Is Weed Legal for Recreational Purposes in Minnesota?

    Since the laws on THC-infused edibles are reduced in Minnesota, you may wonder if recreational weed is legal in Minnesota.

    Currently, recreational weed is illegal in Minnesota. However, with the state reviewing laws yearly, Minnesota will likely legalize marijuana for adult use in the near future.

  • Can You Grow MMJ in Minnesota?

    The state only permits licensed growers to cultivate marijuana. Consequently, growing marijuana in Minnesota for personal use constitutes a felony, and it carries a fine of $200 if the quantity is more than 42 grams of weed.

    Need a license? Obtaining a growers license costs $200 in Minnesota.

    Perhaps when Minnesota relaxes its regulations, the new laws may permit growing weed at home.

  • What are the Conditions for getting an MMJ Permit in Minnesota?

    To become a licensed marijuana patient in Minnesota, you must fulfill the following:

    • Meet any of the qualifying conditions
    • Get your medical condition certified online in the Medical Cannabis Registry by a Minnesota-licensed medical professional
    • After your medical professional certifies your condition, you’ll receive a notice from the Office of Medical Cannabis.
    • The mail will contain your certificate from a medical professional
    • A unique link for the Medical Cannabis Registry.
    • With your unique online enrollment link, you’re now ready to enroll.

    For the online enrolment program, you’ll need the following:

    • Your government-issued I.D. card, driver’s license, or passport.
    • Your medical assistance plan document (if applying for the discounted fee).
    • A digital or mobile phone picture of your I.D. and medical assistance plan (if applicable).
    • Parent/legal guardian’s I.D. and birth certificate if the patient is a minor.
    • Credit/debit card information for payment.

    Follow this link for more information on enrolling in the Minnesota cannabis program.

    Elevate Holistics is here to assist you with your consultation and registration. We’re going live in Minnesota soon, and as soon as we do, we’ll be able to get you your MN MMJ card 100% online, 100% hassle-free. You can read more about our program here, and we’ll update this as soon as we start accepting appointments.

  • How Much MMJ Can I Carry in M.N.?

    If you’re a licensed MMJ patient in M.N., you can have a 90-day supply. However, the amount is determined by a medical practitioner.

    Also, this license permits you to buy from only registered medical marijuana dispensaries in Minnesota.

    You can find a list of dispensaries to purchase marijuana in Minnesota here.

  • Can I Use My Minnesota MMJ Card in other States?

    No, Minnesota does not have reciprocity yet, meaning you cannot purchase MMJ in Minnesota using another state’s license when visiting Minnesota.

    You can check the states that permit reciprocity here, but remember, it is illegal to cross state lines with medical cannabis under Federal law.

  • Become a Certified MMJ Patient in Minnesota With Elevate Holistics

    Elevate Holistics keeps you informed on marijuana legislation in your state. We are a team of licensed medical marijuana professionals who take your well-being and privacy with utmost professionalism. And we always have the answers you need to your canna-questions.

    If you’re a Minnesota resident looking to get your Minnesota medical card, you’re in luck! Elevate Holistics will be going live in your state soon, and we’ll be able to get your MMJ card online, right from the comfort of your home. Once we’re accepting appointments, we’ll let you know. (But don’t worry — it’ll be before you know it.)

Take the first step towards wellness

Book an Appointment with Elevate Holistics today

View all available appointments  More  

Learn Step-by-Step Instructions on how to Get a MMJ Card

Learn More