Is Marijuana Legal in New Hampshire?

For residents of New Hampshire who want to use medical marijuana for medical or recreational purposes, the first question is straightforward – is weed legal in New Hampshire?

Finding an answer to this question might also appear straightforward enough, but there’s more than meets the eye, and Elevate Holistics is here to help you unravel everything.

This article will discuss New Hampshire marijuana laws and answer other questions, including, “Is recreational marijuana legal in New Hampshire?”  Let’s find out.

So, is marijuana legal in New Hampshire? Let’s find out.

  • Is Medical Marijuana Legal in New Hampshire?

    Yes, marijuana is legal for medical patients.

    In 2013, New Hampshire became the 19th state to legalize medical marijuana when lawmakers passed House Bill 573-FN, titled An Act Relative to the Use of Cannabis for Therapeutic Purposes.

    This House Bill 573 allows patients to possess up to two ounces of medical marijuana if they have a qualifying condition and get a written certification from a qualified physician.

    The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) has regulatory authority over medical marijuana in New Hampshire.

    As of 2021, DHHS data indicates that the New Hampshire medical marijuana program has 12,237 registered patients.

  • New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Card

    New Hampshire’s medical marijuana law states that patients must register and obtain an MMJ card before legally using medical marijuana.

    To apply for a medical marijuana card in New Hampshire, you need the following:

    • A completed patient certification
    • A physician certification
    • $50 application fee
    • Proof of New Hampshire residency

    As a patient, ensure you have your medical marijuana card with you whenever you’re in possession of medical marijuana in NH.

    The laws state, “Qualifying patients and designated caregivers who possess cannabis outside their home (s) and do not have their registry identification cards with them shall be subject to a fine of up to $100.”

    Don’t forget that Elevate Holictics can help you through the application process and help you maximize every opportunity the card offers.

    Click here to learn more about applying for a medical marijuana card in New Hampshire.

  • New Hampshire Qualifying Conditions

    According to New Hampshire weed laws, you qualify for medical marijuana if you have any of the following conditions:

  • Is Recreational Marijuana Legal in New Hampshire?

    Depending on the state, buying marijuana for personal use outside the medical marijuana program may or may not be a punishable crime. So that begs the question, is recreational marijuana legal in New Hampshire?

    Unfortunately, the answer is no.

    In 2019, a University of New Hampshire poll showed that 68% of state residents support the legalization of marijuana. But, despite this public support, efforts at recreational legalization have not been successful. 

  • New Hampshire Marijuana Decriminalization

    While recreational marijuana is illegal, New Hampshire has decriminalized the possession of small amounts of marijuana.

     

    is marijuana legal in New Hampshire

     

    Therefore, possessing up to three-quarters of an ounce of marijuana is a civil violation punishable by a simple fine and no jail time.

  • New Hampshire Marijuana Laws

    Is marijuana legal in New Hampshire? Yes, for medical use.

    That said, you still need to know the New Hampshire weed laws because they specify the state’s medical marijuana dos and don’ts. More so, not knowing these laws makes it easier to commit marijuana offenses.

  • How Much Marijuana can I Possess in New Hampshire?

    Like most states, New Hampshire has a legal limit on weed possession. Patients and their caregivers can possess up to two ounces of cannabis and can buy two ounces of cannabis from a licensed dispensary every ten days.

    Considering that recreational weed is illegal, possessing three-quarters of an ounce of marijuana as a nonpatient is a civil violation punishable by a $100 fine for a first or second offense.

    Possessing more than three-quarters of an ounce of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a $300 fine.

  • Where Can I Buy Marijuana in New Hampshire?

    New Hampshire medical marijuana laws refer to dispensaries as alternative treatment centers, and there are seven of those in New Hampshire.

    It is best to buy only from alternative treatment centers because New Hampshire marijuana laws do not protect you if you buy from unlicensed sources.

    Also, marijuana products from unlicensed sources may be contaminated or of poor quality leading to harmful health effects.

    Click here for a list of alternative treatment centers in New Hampshire.

  • New Hampshire DUI Laws

    It is illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana, even if you have a medical marijuana card. Also, nothing in the New Hampshire marijuana laws can exempt you from arrest or persecution.

    A first-time DUI offense is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine, driver’s license revocation for nine months to two years, and completion of an impaired driver intervention program.

    A second DUI offense is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a $750 fine, sixty days in jail, and driver’s license revocation for three years.

  • Is CBD legal in New Hampshire?

    New Hampshire derives its CBD rules from the 2018 Farm Bill. This means that CBD is legal in the state as long as it is obtained from hemp and contains no more than 0.3% THC.

    Authorities in New Hampshire also specify that you cannot use CBD to make food and drinks.

    You can find CBD oil in stores in the state but don’t expect to find edibles.  

  • Can I Grow Marijuana in New Hampshire?

    New Hampshire weed laws do not permit patients to grow marijuana at home. Legislators have tried to legalize growing weed in New Hampshire but have failed so far.

    On the bright side, marijuana laws evolve, so New Hampshire may permit home cultivation later in the future.

  • Can Patients Have Caregivers in New Hampshire?

    Some patients need help with medical marijuana because they are unable to visit the dispensaries due to sickness or age.

    Thankfully, New Hampshire marijuana laws allow patients to have caregivers who must:

    • Be aged at least 21
    • Not have a felony conviction or any felony drug-related offense
    • Register with the medical marijuana registry
    • Not assist more than five patients at a time. If the caregiver and the patients live more than 50 miles from the nearest dispensary, the caregiver can have up to nine patients.

    Medical marijuana patients can act as caregivers but must apply for a registry identification card separate from their patient MMJ card.

  • What is the Age Limit for Marijuana in New Hampshire?

    You must be at least 18 to apply for a medical marijuana card. But, this doesn’t mean people younger than 18 cannot benefit from medical marijuana in New Hampshire. Residents younger than 18 can have a caregiver apply on their behalf.

  • Where Can I Consume Marijuana in New Hampshire?

    Even as a registered medical marijuana patient, there are restrictions on where you can consume marijuana.

    Marijuana laws in NH state that you cannot smoke or vaporize marijuana “in any public place, including a public bus or other public vehicles; or any public park, public beach, or public field.”

    Also, New Hampshire marijuana laws state that it is illegal to possess cannabis in “the building and grounds of any preschool, elementary, or secondary school, which are located in an area designated as a drug-free zone; or a place of employment, without the written permission of the employer; or any correctional facility; any public recreation center or youth center; or any law enforcement facility.”

    The best place to consume cannabis is your private residence, but property owners can prohibit cannabis use on their property.

     

    is marijuana legal in New Hampshire

     

    LEARN MORE: If You Have a Medical Card, Where Can You Smoke?

  • Does New Hampshire Have Reciprocity?

    Is weed legal in NH for visiting patients? Yes, a cardholder from a different state with a qualifying condition recognized by New Hampshire can buy and consume MMJ in NH.

    However, New Hampshire medical marijuana laws state that “a visiting qualifying patient shall not purchase cannabis at an alternative treatment center more than three times in a 12-month period unless the visiting qualifying patient produces a statement from his or her health care provider stating that the visiting qualifying patient has a qualifying medical condition.”

  • Elevate Holistics: Satisfactory Marijuana Service in New Hampshire

    Is marijuana legal in New Hampshire for medical use? Yes, but cannabis and its surrounding laws are more than yeses and noes.

    To fully understand and enjoy your benefits as a patient, you need an expert guide to help you along your cannabis journey, someone to answer your questions and inquiries, and provide you with efficient marijuana service.

    Elevate Holistics is the guide you need, and we put our clients first. Everything we do focuses on your satisfaction and keeping you on the right side of the law.

    Our team of qualified doctors and cannabis experts is available to give you the best advice and help you get your medical marijuana card in three easy steps. To learn more, simply click here.

Take the first step towards wellness

Book an Appointment with Elevate Holistics today

View all available appointments  More  

Learn Step-by-Step Instructions on how to Get a MMJ Card

Learn More