Missouri Marijuana Possession Laws

Missouri is one of the 36 states in America where medical marijuana is legal. However, adult use, or recreational marijuana, is illegal in The Show-Me State. Missouri marijuana possession laws specify how much cannabis a person can legally possess and the qualifying medical conditions for a cannabis prescription.

Even though medical marijuana is legal in Missouri, marijuana possession remains a federal offense for non-patients. That’s why, today, we’re focusing entirely on outlining MMJ possession laws in MO. With us, you can purchase your cannabis with ease knowing you’re staying on the right side of the law.

So, is marijuana legal in Missouri? Let’s find out.

  • Monthly Limits for Medical Marijuana Patients

    In 2014, lawmakers in Missouri passed HB2238 which created the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program (MHERP). Under the bill’s terms, Missourians with intractable epilepsy could legally purchase, possess, and use hemp extract with no more than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) by weight and at least 5% cannabidiol (CBD) by weight as long as it contains no intoxicating substances.

    From there, the Missouri Senate passed SB 491. This changed the criminal code and decriminalized marijuana possession. The bill made possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana a misdemeanor punishable by a fine for first-time offenders.

    Finally, medical marijuana came to Missouri in 2018 when Missourians voted for Amendment 2: the Medical Marijuana and Veteran Health-care Service Initiative. Missouri Amendment 2 legalized the use of medical marijuana as recommended by state-licensed physicians; it also created regulations for licensing and certification of patients and dispensaries.

    So, how did Amendment 2 outline monthly possession limits?

    Missouri’s marijuana possession law states, “Qualifying patients or their caregivers may purchase up to four ounces of dried, unprocessed marijuana, or its equivalent, in a 30-day period. If a patient requires more than this amount, two independent physician certifications stating the amount needed must be submitted with the patient application.”

  • Marijuana

    According to the provisions of Amendment 2, patients with a valid marijuana card and their caregivers can possess up to a 60-day supply of dried cannabis. (Or its equivalent if the patient doesn’t grow their marijuana.) This equals out toabout 8 ounces or 226 grams. Patients and caregivers who cultivate their marijuana can possess up to a 90-day supply as long as the homegrown crop stays on the property where it is grown. A 90-day supply is equivalent to 12 ounces or 339 grams.

    For a patient with a valid card who possesses marijuana up to twice the maximum limit, the state may fine them $200 and revoke their card.

    LEARN MORE: Measuring Cannabis: What is an Eighth of Weed?

  • Marijuana Concentrate

    The limit of four ounces of dried, unprocessed marijuana is equivalent to 32 grams of marijuana concentrate.

  • THC-Infused Products

    The state also regulates THC-infused products under the monthly limit of four ounces. It’s equivalent to 3200 milligrams of THC-infused products.

  • Cultivation Limits

    A patient with a state-issued medical marijuana identification card or caregiver may apply to cultivate marijuana. Keep in mind that you can only grow six flowering plants simultaneously, and the application attracts a $100 fee.

    Patients younger than 18 can’t obtain a cultivation license unless they are emancipated. For non-emancipated patients under 18, their parent or guardian may obtain a cultivation license provided they have a primary caregiver ID card.

    Caregivers are permitted to have a maximum of three patients, and a caregiver who has multiple patients must obtain cultivation permits for each person.

    Patients and caregivers who want to cultivate their plants at home have to abide by the following regulations:

    • Cultivation must occur in an enclosed and secure facility that permits access to only the patient or their primary caregiver.
    • Patients can cultivate only six flowering marijuana plants, six non-flowering marijuana plants (over 14 inches tall), and six clones (plants under 14 inches tall).
    • You must label the cultivated plants with the patient’s name.
    • You must display cultivation authorization in the cultivation area. The license should have the name of the patient or their primary caregiver and the address of the facility in which the state permits them to cultivate marijuana.

  • Penalties

    Marijuana possession and cultivation remain illegal for nonpatients and attract punitive measures. Make sure you always follow MMJ guidelines if you want to avoid the law. Here are the penalties for breaking Missouri’s marijuana possession laws.

  • Penalty for trafficking weed

    In Missouri, possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana is a class D misdemeanor and will result in a fine of up to $500. Possession of more than 10grams, but up to 35 grams, is a class A demeanor. Penalties can include up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. Possession of more than 35 grams is a class D felony, and penalties include up to seven years in prison.

    If you possess more than 30kg of weed but less than 100kg, this is a felony. You may receive a sentence of 3-10 years and a maximum fine of $10,000. Possession of 100kg or more of marijuana is a felony and carries a penalty of 5-15 years and a maximum fine of twice the sale’s profit. Possession of 500 plants or more is also a felony. If you do this, you’ll likely get a sentence of 5-15 years and a maximum penalty of twice the sale’s profit.

  • Distribution penalties

    Possession of more than 35grams but less than 30kg is often charged as intent to distribute. The sale or distribution of 35 grams or less is a felony punishable by a four-year sentence and a maximum fine of $10,000.

    If you sell or distribute 35 grams up to 30kg, this is a felony with a prison sentence of 3-10 years and a fine of $10,000. The sale or distribution of marijuana to a minor carries a 3-15 years penalty. It also comes with a fine capped at twice the profit realized from the sale. However, distribution near schools, recreational parks, or public housing carries a sentence of 10-30 years or life and a maximum fine of twice the profit.

  • Penalties for possession of drug paraphernalia

    Marijuana paraphernalia can include anything used to plant, propagate, grow, harvest, process, pack, or inhale a controlled substance. This includes scale, grinder, roach clip, bong, baggies, rolling papers, glass pipe, and marijuana vaporizer. Unlawful possession of drug paraphernalia is a class D demeanor that carries no prison sentence. However, it attracts a $500 fine for first offenders.

    Missouri marijuana possession laws state that the second offense is a misdemeanor with a one-year sentence and a $2000 fine. A prior conviction for a drug crime can make possession of marijuana paraphernalia a class A misdemeanor.

  • Let Elevate Holistics Guide You

    As you can see, the regulations surrounding marijuana possession laws can be mind-boggling. However, Elevate Holistics is here to make it all easy. As laws continue to develop and we become more comfortable with cannabis regulations, we’ll stay updating you every step of the way.

    So, are you hoping to get your hands on an MO MMJ card? Elevate Holistics is your best bet for an affordable, legitimate medical recommendation. Even if you’re looking for cannabis information or a licensed dispensary, we’ll help you get that too. All you have to do is click the button below to get started.

     


    Did you know? Elevate Holistics has patterned with Doobie — a marijuana delivery service for MO patients! Click here to learn more.

Take the first step towards wellness

Book an Appointment with Elevate Holistics today

View all available appointments  More  

Learn Step-by-Step Instructions on how to Get a MMJ Card

Learn More