Medical Marijuana Kansas Frequently Asked Questions
Learn more about MMJ and how Elevate Holistics can help you obtain an MMJ card in minutes. Money back guaranteed.
Is Marijuana Decriminalized in Kansas?
No, marijuana is illegal in Kansas, and possessing even a small amount still attracts a criminal charge.
In 2016, the Kansas Legislature reduced the penalty for first-time possession from one year in jail to six months. The penalty for a second offense was reduced from a felony to a misdemeanor with a 1-year maximum jail sentence.
Note that reducing the sentence does not mean the state has decriminalized marijuana. So if state officials catch you with marijuana, you will still face criminal charges.
It is best to obey the law and stay away from marijuana whenever you’re in Kansas.
When Will Kansas Legalize Marijuana?
We don’t know when legal marijuana will come to Kansas, but activists and legislators are actively working towards it.
A Kansas medical marijuanas bill scaled the Kansas House but stalled in the Senate. Fortunately, that doesn’t mean legalization won’t happen; the House and Senate just need to agree on the final bill.
The Kansas State Legislature has ended the 2022 session, so legal marijuana won’t happen this year. Still, lawmakers and activists are optimistic that legalization efforts will significantly progress in the coming 2023 session.
We have our ears to the ground, and we are monitoring developments. If there’s any significant change in Kansas marijuana laws, you’ll be the first to know.
How Will I Get a Kansas Medical Marijuana Card?
In states where medical marijuana is legal, patients usually need to register in the medical program and get an MMJ card. However, medical marijuana is not legal in Kansas, so it is not possible to get a marijuana card.
What are the Marijuana Laws in Kansas?
The most important Kansas marijuana law you need to note is that marijuana in all its forms is illegal, and there is no provision for medical marijuana. But others are as follows:
Kansas Marijuana Sale laws
Marijuana sale is illegal and punishable by law. The sale of fewer than 4 grams is a Level 4 felony punishable by up to 51 months in prison and a $300,000 maximum fine.
However, the sale of 450 grams and less than 30 kilograms is a Level 2 felony punishable by up to 144 months in jail and a $500,000 fine.
If you sell 30 kilograms or more, this is a Level 1 felony punishable by 204 months in jail and a $500,000 maximum fine.
More so, a sale within 1,000 feet of a school attracts a higher penalty.
Kansas Paraphernalia Laws
Use of or possession with intent to use marijuana paraphernalia to store or consume marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a $2,500 maximum fine.
Also, possession with intent to use paraphernalia to grow marijuana is a Level 5 felony punishable by up to 42 months in prison and a $100,000 maximum fine.
The sale of marijuana paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a $2,500 maximum fine.
Finally, the sale of paraphernalia to a minor or within 1,000 feet of a school is a felony punishable by up to 17 months in jail and a $500,000 fine.
Is CBD legal in Kansas?
CBD oil is legal as long as it doesn’t contain THC; this is different from the general 0.3% THC content federal designation for CBD oil.
In Kansas, CBD oil is legal only if it contains 0% THC.
Is it Legal to Grow Marijuana in Kansas?
You can’t grow marijuana in Kansas; the state has very strict marijuana laws against possession, sale, and cultivation. The penalties for growing marijuana in Kansas are severe.
You may ask, “What is the penalty for growing Marijuana in Kansas?”
If you grow more than 4 but less than 50 plants, you face a Level 3 felony charge that is punishable by a 46 – 83 months prison sentence and a $300,000 maximum fine.
However, if you grow 50 plants but less than 100, it is a Level 2 felony. The penalty is 92 – 144 months prison sentence and a $500,000 fine.
Cultivation of 100 plants or more is a Level 1 felony punishable by 138 – 204 months prison sentence and a $500,000 maximum fine.
How Many Ounces of Marijuana Is a Felony in Kansas?
Cannabis laws in Kansas are very strict and are one of only 19 states where simple possession of cannabis is punished by jail time. Possession of any amount of cannabis in Kansas is a punishable offense, but felonies carry a more severe penalty.
According to Kansas laws on drug possession, a first-time possession charge is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by jail time of up to six months and a $1000 maximum fine.
A second conviction for marijuana possession is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a $2,500 maximum fine.
Third and subsequent convictions are Level 5 drug felonies punishable by a hefty $100,000 fine and up to 42 months in jail.
Can Kansas Doctors Prescribe Medical Marijuana?
Technically, doctors in America cannot prescribe medical marijuana because it is a Schedule I drug. However, doctors can recommend medical marijuana treatment and issue physician certifications in states where medical marijuana is legal.
Medical marijuana is illegal in Kansas, so doctors cannot recommend it. The closest thing to legal, medical marijuana in Kansas is FDA-approved cannabis-derived drugs and CBD oil without THC.
In June 2022, Governor Laura Kelly signed House Bill 2450, which legalized FDA-approved drugs derived from cannabis. The FDA has approved one cannabis-derived drug product: Epidiolex (cannabidiol) and three synthetic cannabis-related drug products: Marinol (dronabinol), Syndros (dronabinol), and Cesamet (nabilone).
You Can Rely on Elevate Holistics
The therapeutic effects of marijuana have grown in popularity, and many states have legalized the natural wonder plant. Kansas is yet to join the train, but we’re keeping a close eye on developments.
Usually, legalization comes with many rules and regulations that may confuse the average marijuana user; this is where we come in. You can count on us to help you make sense of marijuana laws where it is legal and give you reliable, up-to-date information.
Thousands of satisfied clients trust our full-option marijuana service, and we’ll love to make you one of them. Click the link below to book an appointment with us in one of the states we do service, and let’s get started.
Do you qualify for a medical card?
Approval in 30-minutes or less!