Trusted by More than 100,000+
Happy Patients and Counting
Get a West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card Online in 3
Booking your appointment has never been easier
Book Appointment | Information is 100% Secure | HIPAA-Compliant Privacy
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in West Virginia: Your Step-by-Step Process
The process of getting your West Virginia medical marijuana card may feel a bit daunting, but it doesn’t have to be. With Elevate Holistics, we make getting your WV MMJ card easier than ever before — and you don’t even have to leave the couch.
Our telemedicine platform is designed to bring ease and comfort to our patients, from the start of the process to the very last step.
Here’s how you can get your West Virginia medical marijuana card online in just three easy steps with Elevate Holistics.
Here’s our three-step process on how to get medical marijuana in West Virginia.
Meet With an MMJ Doctor (Like Us!)
The first step to getting your WV MMJ card is making an appointment with our expert cannabis physicians. These doctors will meet with you over the phone or computer to see whether or not you qualify for medical marijuana.
During this short appointment, you can ask all the questions you need about medical cannabis or WV’s medical cannabis regulations.
Get Approved and Register With the State
If your doctor determines that you qualify for a West Virginia medical marijuana card, they will fill out a patient certification form for you.
Then, you will need to go online and create an account with the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources.
You must complete a basic application form and pay the application fee of $50. Fee waivers are available for patients who can prove financial hardship.
Get Your MMJ Card and Start Shopping!
After you’ve submitted all your information, the West Virginia government will review your application within 30 to 60 days.
If your application is approved, you will be notified by email and will receive your West Virginia medical marijuana card in the mail and you’ll be able to start shopping from the dispensaries in your area.
West Virginia Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions
West Virginia currently approves medical marijuana cards for patients that have approved chronic health conditions. These conditions have been proven to benefit from medical marijuana treatment.
Right now, the approved conditions under West Virginia marijuana laws are as follows:
If you are unsure of whether or not you qualify for medical marijuana in Arkansas, it may be worth seeing a doctor and getting their recommendation.
There is some flexibility in terms of using marijuana as a treatment for chronic pain and nausea.
We are a team who believes in the medical benefits of cannabis; but, we’re also keenly aware that a large percentage of the population doesn’t know where to start on their cannabis journey. This is why we promise to treat every patient with respect, compassion, and love.
We’re all on our own journey and we promise to respect yours.
How Long Does It Take To Get a Medical Card in West Virginia?
It will take between 30-60 days for you to get your West Virginia medical marijuana card. This is because the state has to thoroughly analyze your application — as well as many others — to ensure that everything was done correctly. Patience is key!
West Virginia Medical Marijuana Doctors
If you’re curious about where to find licensed West Virginia medical marijuana doctors, Elevate Holistics has you covered.
Our WV MMJ physicians have been operating in the state for quite some time now, and they can give you all the information you need to know about medical cannabis in West Virginia. Our doctor appointments are always online, and they’re completely HIPAA-compliant and private. No matter what, your information is always safe and secure with us.
Your Elevate Holistics doctor’s appointment will only last a few minutes, so you don’t have to worry about it disrupting your busy schedule. Plus, you can do it all from the comfort of your couch.
If you’re ready to book an appointment with one of our WV MMJ doctors, click the button below.
Can Minors Get Medical Cards in West Virginia?
Yes, West Virginia weed laws allow patients under the age of 18 with qualifying conditions to purchase medical marijuana with the help of a caregiver.
Adult patients who are physically unable to make it to the dispensary can also use a caregiver. The caregiver is able to visit the dispensary and purchase products for the patient, but they cannot use marijuana themselves.
Unfortunately, Elevate Holistics doesn’t conduct appointments for minors in West Virginia.
Click to learn more about how MMJ can benefit your condition:
Learn About Your State
Select your state or choose it from the map below.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Washington, DC
- West Virginia
- Fully Legal
- Medical and Decriminalized
- CBD with THC Only
- Fully Illegal
Frequently Asked Questions
Medical marijuana was officially legalized in West Virginia back in 2017, but it wasn’t until 2019 that the program officially launched.
While medical marijuana is legal, recreational marijuana in West Virginia is currently illegal. Possession of small amounts of marijuana for recreational purposes is a misdemeanor and can come with legal consequences.
- Photo ID
- Proof of WV residency
- Digital photo (think passport-quality)
- Copy of the completed Patient Certification form
- $50 state fee
People choose to get medical marijuana cards for so many different reasons. But, since recreational cannabis isn’t permitted in WV, getting a West Virginia medical marijuana card is the only way to legally buy, possess, and enjoy cannabis!
The medical marijuana card cost is $50 for most West Virginia residents. If you can prove financial hardship, the state will waive this fee for you.
Additionally, you will need to pay for your appointment with a medical marijuana doctor. Since marijuana is not yet legal on a federal level, health insurance does not cover any appointments or services relating to marijuana. The cost of your appointment can vary depending on your provider. Elevate Holistics offers telehealth medical marijuana appointments starting at just $100.
Yes, you can! In order to be a caregiver, you must be over the age of 21 and a resident of the state of West Virginia.
Caregivers will need to pass a criminal background check as part of their application. Each patient can designate up to two caregivers, and a registered caregiver can have up to five patients.
The application process for caregivers is very similar to the one that patients go through. A doctor will need to confirm that the patient has a chronic condition and needs a provider. The caregiver will then need to apply online and pay the same fees that the patient does.
When you have a West Virginia medical marijuana card, you can possess up to a 30-day supply from your local dispensary.
You can click here to learn the ins and outs of WV medical marijuana laws.
Unfortunately, growing marijuana plants at home is not allowed, despite medical marijuana legalization in West Virginia.
If you are caught growing your own marijuana, you could face serious legal consequences. These can include fines or even jail time.
Sadly, no, West Virginia does not offer medical marijuana reciprocity for cardholders.
Yes, There are dispensaries located throughout the state of West Virginia, with options in major cities and small towns.
When you visit the dispensary, you will need to check in with your medical marijuana card and government-issued ID. Many dispensaries encourage new patients to call ahead to speed up the check-in process.