South Carolina Medical Marijuana Frequently Asked Questions

South Carolina Medical Marijuana FAQ

  • Is medical marijuana legal in South Carolina?

    South Carolina is one of the dwindling number of states in the country that does not have medical marijuana. South Carolina may change this later in 2022, but it might still be several years before the state finally enacts some type of program for medical cannabis.

    Many other states have had a substantial amount of success with their medical marijuana initiatives over the years. It has been shown to be a workable solution, and it will hopefully not be too long before the South Carolina Marijuana laws start to change.

  • What Type of Delta-8 is Legal in South Carolina?

    Delta-8 is a cannabinoid found in both marijuana and hemp. It is a popular option because it is easy to get, and it is considered safe. Users have said that it helped to calm nausea, increase appetite, help with pain relief, and prevent instances of vomiting when going through cancer treatments.

    Delta-8 is legal at state and federal levels, which means you can buy Delta-8 online and through a range of licensed shops that are operating in South Carolina. There are many different types of products made using Delta-8. These include distillates, vapes, and gummies.

    However, these products are only legal in South Carolina when they have been made from hemp plants and when they have no more than 0.3% THC in them. If the Delta-8 is not made from hemp and is made from marijuana, and it has a higher THC level, it is not allowed. It would be considered a controlled substance at both the state and federal levels.

    If you are traveling, you can bring Delta-8 to South Carolina without any worry. Delta-8 THC is legal in South Carolina. Again, though, you need to be sure it is hemp-derived and has below the max THC levels.

  • What Are the Marijuana Laws in South Carolina?

    Despite being legal in so many states, the South Carolina marijuana laws are still quite strict. Even for simple possession, it can carry some serious penalties.

    If you are charged with possession, it will be a misdemeanor. For having one ounce or less on you, there will be a fine that’s between $100 and $200, and a potential jail stay of up to 30 days.

    For a second possession charge of an ounce or less, it’s still considered a misdemeanor, but the penalties are a lot more severe. It could have a fine of up to $2,000 and up to a year of imprisonment.

    If you have any amount over one ounce, it could be treated as a distribution crime. This is where things start to get a lot more serious, as you will see in the next section.

    Those who are caught with paraphernalia will receive a civil citation. The max fine for this will be $500.

  • Is Marijuana Possession a Felony in South Carolina?

    You aren’t going to get charged with a felony for simple possession. Those will be misdemeanors, as mentioned above. However, when you have more than an ounce of marijuana on you in South Carolina, you could be charged with sale or trafficking.

    This is true even if it was for your own use. These have the potential to be serious penalties. However, in a lot of cases, no one would have the need for this much weed.

    If you have anything from a little more than an ounce to 10 lbs., you could be charged with a felony, which has a maximum of five years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000.

    Transactions from 10 to 100 lbs. are also a felony, albeit much more serious. This could include between one and 25 years in prison and a fine of between $10,000 and $25,000 depending on the number of offenses.

    Those who have 100 lbs. or more will face at least 25 years in prison and a fine between $25,000 and $200,000.

  • How to Obtain a Medical Marijuana License in South Carolina?

    Simply put, this is not something that you can get because medical marijuana is not legal in the state. You won’t be getting a medical card or cannabis license in South Carolina.

    You might be able to get approved for clinical-grade CBD, which has less than 0.90% THC potency. However, there are only a handful of conditions that could qualify for this CBD. These include Lennox-Gastaut Syndrome, Dravet Syndrome, or another type of severe epilepsyCBD gummies in South Carolina could help with this.

  • Is It Legal to Grow Marijuana in South Carolina?

    As much as some people may wish they could grow their own marijuana for medical purposes in South Carolina, it can’t happen. Growing marijuana plants can cause some serious legal issues for you.

    The laws state that if you have fewer than 100 plants, it is considered a felony. You could conceivably be charged with a felony for having just a single plant. The maximum sentence is five years in prison with a maximum fine of $5,000.

    If you have more than 100 plants, it is also a felony, of course. This will likely mean at least 25 years in prison. The fine could range from $25,000 to $200,000.

    Even if something like the proposed Compassionate Care Act for South Carolina medical marijuana were to go through and become law, it would still be considered illegal.

    The best course of action will be to err on the side of caution and safety. Don’t make the mistake of trying to grow weed. It’s not worth the penalties you could face.

  • Where Can You Buy Marijuana in South Carolina?

    It’s not just private citizens that can’t grow. No one in the state is allowed to grow or sell, which is why you won’t find a single South Carolina dispensary. You won’t be able to buy online or offline, at least not legally.

    Remember that marijuana is not decriminalized in South Carolina, so being caught with even a small amount of weed can mean big problems for you. It doesn’t matter whether you were using it for medicinal purposes or not.

    Since there is not an option for a weed dispensary in SC, those who feel it is vital for their health and wellbeing might want to move to a state where medical marijuana is already legal. It’s not the easiest or cheapest solution, but it could be the best.

  • Can You Buy Delta-9 in South Carolina?

    Is Delta-9 legal in SC? Currently, it is legal due to the 2018 Farm Bill. This federally legalized cannabinoids and products derived from hemp. It allows legislators to pass a range of hemp laws in different states. Currently, all derivatives, extracts, cannabinoids, and isomers derived from hemp are legal in the state.

    Typically, Delta-9 is associated with marijuana plants because it has THC. However, it can be found in hemp, as well. It has the potential to provide users with a wide range of different types of effects including euphoria, increased motivation, calmness, and relaxation, for example.

    However, while this can be helpful, you have to understand that it’s not the same as medical marijuana. The same is true with Delta-8. There is no recourse at this time since legalization looks as though it is still quite a ways off.

We're not currently live in this state — but our trusted partner Heally is. Click here to see if you qualify.

Approval in 30-minutes or less!

Find Out Today