Elevated Brownies Recipe | Download for FREE!

Medical Marijuana California Frequently Asked Questions

Learn more about MMJ and how Elevate Holistics can help you obtain an MMJ card in minutes. Money back guaranteed.

ca scaled

Yes, it is completely legal to buy medical marijuana in California! In fact, CA was the first state in the US to legalize medical marijuana at a state level. Proposition 215, or the Compassionate Use Act, passed in 1996 and went down in history. Of course, in order to legally purchase MMJ, you will have to have a California medical card, first.

Since 2016, CA has also legalized recreational cannabis consumption for those 21 years and older.

You need a medical card in California if you want to purchase medical cannabis and reap the benefits that the MMJ program offers. Medical patients are exempt from sales and use tax.

However, you don’t have to have a medical card in CA. Since recreational cannabis is legal in the Golden State, you just have to be at least 21 years old and have proper identification to walk into a dispensary and purchase cannabis.

In order to get a medical marijuana card in CA, you first have to meet with a qualified physician that certifies you have at least one of the state’s qualifying medical conditions. Here is the state’s list of qualifying medical conditions: 

Once a physician diagnoses you with a condition, then they will give you a written certification stating that cannabis is appropriate for your health. Then, you will take this medical recommendation and apply on the California Department of Public Health’s Medical Marijuana ID registration site. You will fill out the Medical Marijuana Program Application/Renewal Form.

For the application, you’ll need to show proof of residence and identification. When you have all the documentation, you will visit a county health department in your area and submit your application. You’ll likely hear back about the status of your application within 30 days.

The legal age for medical weed in California is 18.

In other words, you can obtain a medical marijuana card in California at the age of 18 and above as long as you have proper documentation. If you are under 18, you can still get your medical card; however, you must have a designated caregiver apply, fill out forms, and purchase cannabis on your behalf. Typically, for minors, their caregiver is a parent or guardian.

Technically, California doesn’t have an established cannabis reciprocity program. But, they do have legalized recreational cannabis; thus, as long as you have a proper ID and are at least 21 years old, you can purchase cannabis in CA even if you’re from another state. 

Of course! You will find marijuana dispensaries all across California that take both medical and recreational patients. When shopping at one of these dispensaries,  make sure to show the employee your medical card. This way, they can exempt you from any of the taxes you would have to pay as a non-patient.

While medical marijuana-only dispensaries used to be prominent in CA, they are now a thing of the past — dispensaries can now sell to both patients and recreational consumers.

You should keep in mind that some counties and cities in CA have banned cannabis businesses. Thus, you may not be able to find a dispensary in your immediate area. For a full list of cannabis dispensaries, you can click here: https://www.canorml.org/cannabis-resource-directory/dispensaries-and-delivery/

Growing marijuana in California is legal and quite straightforward. California marijuana plant laws state that adult residents can cultivate their cannabis wherever they choose, but they cannot grow more than six plants at once.

Medical patients, however, are allowed to grow up to six mature plants or 12 immature plants.

If you have a medical marijuana card in CA, you are legally allowed to possess and transport up to 8 ounces (226.8 grams) of dried cannabis or concentrates. As we established above, patients also cannot grow more than six mature plants or 12 immature plants.

According to medical marijuana laws in California, patients are not allowed to give away or transfer their MMJ.

If you aren’t a medical patient, you are allowed to possess up to one ounce of dried cannabis (28.35 grams) and up to 8 grams of concentrates at once. Again, cultivation laws for non-patients allow you to grow up to six mature plants at one time.

Learn more about medical marijuana laws in your state by clicking here.

Getting prescribed medical weed in California starts with a qualified physician. To find a licensed physician you can trust right from your home, you can head over to our partners at Heally.

Heally offers 100% online appointments with a qualified physician who can help you get your medical marijuana card in California. All you have to do is click the button below to get started!

Do you qualify for a medical card?

Approval in 30-minutes or less!

IT Support by SADOSSecure, Fast Hosting for WordPress
Scroll to Top

Search

elevate services

Unlock Our Secret Recipe!

Get ready to impress your friends and family with our top-secret recipe. Fill the form bellow

By clicking “Accept All”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. Privacy Policy.