michigan-medical-card-faq

In Michigan, marijuana is currently legal for both recreational and medical use. If you’re looking to get a medical marijuana card in Michigan, you might have questions about how the process works. Luckily, the process is simpler than you might think. Here are some of the most common questions about marijuana laws in Michigan. 

Is marijuana legal in Michigan?

The Michigan marijuana legalization process technically started in the 1970s, when the city of Ann Arbor voted to decriminalize small amounts of marijuana. This was incredibly progressive for the time period, and Michigan was one of the first cities to do this. Michigan opted to legalize marijuana for medical use in 2008. 

At the time, the law only allowed patients to grow their own plants. It did not technically allow for dispensaries, although many began operating in the years after this law was passed. The law was amended in 2016 to make dispensaries legal. This amendment also allowed patients to buy edibles, topical oils, and other forms of marijuana besides flower. These new Michigan edible laws offered a good alternative to smoking for those who don’t enjoy it. 

Cannabis was officially legalized for recreational use in Michigan in 2018. The first recreational dispensaries opened in 2019. Michigan’s laws are unique in that they now allow anyone to cultivate up to 12 plants at home in addition to being able to buy from a dispensary. 

How much is a medical marijuana card in Michigan?

To get a Michigan medical card, you will need to pay an initial application fee of $40. If you are approved, your card will last for two years. Keep in mind that you will need to pay this fee for every medical card renewal as well. 

In addition to the application fee, you will also need to pay for your initial consultation with a doctor. Keep in mind that insurance companies do not currently cover any expenses related to marijuana, as it is not yet legal on a federal level. The cost of this appointment will vary depending on where you go – some providers charge as much as $200. Elevate Holistics offers telehealth appointments with medical marijuana doctors starting at $75. 

Although you will need to pay some fees in order to get your MMMP card, it can actually save you money in the long run if you have one of the qualifying conditions. This is because medical marijuana cardholders don’t pay as much in taxes as recreational marijuana users do. 

Where can I get my medical marijuana card in Michigan?

To get a medical marijuana card in Michigan, you will need to start by making an appointment with a doctor. Your doctor will need to verify that you have one of the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana. You can visit a doctor in-person or use a telehealth service like Elevate Holistics. You’ll need to make sure that the doctor you choose is licensed and willing to provide medical marijuana evaluations, as not all doctors do. 

If you do qualify, your doctor will help you through the medical marijuana application process. You will need to create an account online, and then you will need to mail in a complete medical marijuana application packet. This will include your doctor’s certification as well as your application fee and proof of residency. You will then receive an email with a temporary card when your application has been approved. 

Is marijuana legal in Michigan for recreational use?

Marijuana has been legal for recreational use in Michigan since 2019. There are Michigan recreational dispensaries in every major city as well as small towns throughout the state. Anyone over the age of 21 can visit the dispensary and purchase the products they need. Dispensaries offer a wide selection of flower strains as well as many other cannabis products, and they can help patients find the best products for their needs.  

In Michigan, you can possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in public or 10 ounces of marijuana at home. Michigan law also allows anyone to grow up to 12 cannabis plants at home. Although marijuana possession is legal, you still can’t consume marijuana everywhere. Many private businesses and public spaces alike have restrictions regarding marijuana use. If you want to use marijuana in Michigan, make sure you’re in a safe location before starting. 

How to get a medical card in Michigan?

In order to get a medical card, you must have one of the qualifying conditions for medical card in Michigan. Michigan’s laws currently allow patients with a wide range of chronic conditions to apply for medical marijuana cards. Some of these conditions include cancer, Alzheimer’s disease, HIV/AIDS, PTSD, spinal cord injuries, and many more. 

Michigan also allows medical marijuana prescriptions for anyone with a chronic condition that results in severe pain, severe nausea, wasting syndrome, seizures, or severe muscle spasms. This qualification providers some flexibility for doctors to prescribe medical marijuana to anyone that might need it. If you think you could benefit from medical marijuana but aren’t sure you qualify, it may be worth talking to a doctor to see what options are available to you. 

Do dispensaries track how much you buy?

Although marijuana is legal for recreational use in Michigan, there are still possession limits, which begs the question – do Michigan marijuana dispensaries track how much you buy? 

Most dispensaries ask for some patient information when you make a purchase, and they will typically swipe your ID as well. Most dispensaries will keep track of your data for marketing purposes, not legal purposes, and they won’t share your personal information. However, Michigan residents are not allowed to purchase more than 10 ounces of flower or an equivalent amount of other products per month. This means that dispensaries may stop you once you’ve hit the Michigan recreational purchase limit. 

How often can you go to a dispensary?

Because marijuana is legal for recreational use in Michigan, you can visit the dispensary as often as you want. However, there is still a monthly purchase limit of 10 ounces for medical marijuana patients. Because of this, you might find that dispensaries will not sell to you after you’ve reached this point. 

How to renew medical card online?

The process of renewing your medical marijuana card is very similar to the initial registration. You will need to submit another certification from a medical marijuana doctor and application packet, and you will also need to pay another application fee. You should start the renewal process 60 to 90 days before your card expires to ensure that you are continually covered. 

What cities in Michigan allow dispensaries?

Because marijuana is legal for recreational use now, most cities in Michigan now allow for and support their own dispensaries. This ensures that everyone has equal access to the products that they need. However, there are seven towns in Michigan that have voted to ban dispensaries. These towns do not follow Michigan dispensary laws. Luckily, these towns are located within driving distance of other cities that do allow medical marijuana. 

How much marijuana can you have in Michigan?

In Michigan, you can have up to 10 ounces of marijuana at home or 2.5 ounces of marijuana in public. If you exceed these possession limits, it could result in a fine or other legal consequences. These possession limits apply for medical marijuana patients as well. 

How long does it take to get a medical card?

The processing times for medical marijuana cards in Michigan have improved dramatically over the past few years. In the past, it used to take weeks for the state to process your medical marijuana card. Now, the state can process applications in just a few days, so you can visit the Michigan medical dispensaries faster. 

How much does it cost to get a medical card?

Michigan charges an application fee of $40 to get a medical card. You will need to pay this fee every time you renew your medical card for another two-year period. Patients will also need to pay to visit a medical marijuana doctor. The cost of this can vary – Elevate Holistics offers telehealth appointments with licensed medical marijuana doctors starting at $75. You will need to pay these costs out of pocket, as health insurance companies do not cover them. 

What is the legal possession limit for marijuana in Michigan?

Michigan currently has a possession limit of 10 ounces. However, you can only possess 2.5 ounces in public spaces. The additional 7.5 ounces must be stored securely in your residence. Exceeding these possession limits could result in fines. 

What qualifies for a medical marijuana card in Michigan?

In order to get your medical card, you must have one of Michigan’s designated qualifying medical conditions. There are currently 19 conditions that qualify for medical marijuana, which include serious chronic injuries and illnesses. Michigan also allows marijuana prescriptions for any condition that causes severe pain, nausea, seizures, or wasting syndrome.