New Mexico Medical Marijuana Frequently Asked Questions

 

New Mexico Medical Marijuana FAQ

new mexico medical marijuana

Is medical marijuana legal in New Mexico?

Yes, medical marijuana is legal in New Mexico and has been for quite some time! In fact, the Land of Enchantment was the first state in the US to recognize the medicinal benefits of MMJ all the way back in 1978. However, it wasn’t until 2007 that New Mexico passed formal legislation legalizing medical cannabis for those with qualifying conditions.

The bill, SB 523, allowed the New Mexico Department of Health (NMDOH) to establish and regulate NM’s new Medical Cannabis Program. Today, the MMJ program in New Mexico is thriving, even almost two decades later.

How to apply for a medical marijuana card in New Mexico

In order to legally obtain New Mexico medical marijuana, you will need to have a medical card. Don’t worry! The NM medical card application process is quite straightforward.

First, to apply for a New Mexico medical marijuana card, you have to meet with a licensed physician who can diagnose you with one of the 28 qualifying conditions the state lists. We’ve listed all of those conditions in the next section. 

Once you’ve been diagnosed, your physician will provide you with a certification stating that MMJ would be beneficial to you. From there, you will go to the NMDOH’s website to fill out an official NM medical card application. The state asks you to provide your physician certification, proof of identification, and proof of NM residency.

Unlike many other states, the NMDOH doesn’t charge an application or card fee — the process is completely free. You should hear back about the status of your application within 30 days.

How do you qualify for medical marijuana in New Mexico?

To qualify for medical marijuana in New Mexico, a certified physician must diagnose you with at least one of the state’s qualifying medical conditions. You also have to be at least 18 years old (or have a designated caregiver if you’re a minor), be an NM resident, and have proof of ID/residency.

The New Mexico MMJ program’s qualifying medical conditions are as follows:

If your current condition isn’t on this list but you feel as though you can still benefit from medical cannabis, you can petition to add your condition to the MMJ program. Simply click here to do so. 

Can I travel to New Mexico with my medical marijuana?

No, you cannot cross state lines with your medical cannabis, even if you have a New Mexico medical marijuana card. It is illegal to do so. Thankfully, all you need is your out-of-state medical card to purchase your favorite products in New Mexico.

NM recognizes cannabis reciprocity. This means that they allow out-of-state medical patients to enter dispensaries and purchase medical cannabis as long as they present their MMJ cards. Thus, you do not have to bring your MMJ with you — you can just buy some while you’re in the Land of Enchantment.

Also, keep in mind that New Mexico recently legalized recreational cannabis, as well. So, as long as you’re 21 years old and have proper identification, you can purchase recreational weed from the NM dispensaries that offer it.

Learn more about NM recreational cannabis by clicking here.

Does New Mexico have medical marijuana laws?

Yes. Since medical marijuana is legal in New Mexico, the state had to establish laws to regulate the MMJ program.

According to New Mexico medical marijuanas law, patients are allowed to possess up to 8 ounces of cannabis or cannabis products — 227 grams — over a three-month period. Along with this, MMJ cardholders can also grow up to 12 seedlings and four mature plants in their home.

Those without a medical card can purchase up to two ounces of flower and 16 grams of concentrate at once. New Mexico cannabis laws also allow non-patients to grow plants at home — up to 12 per household — and even craft solventless extracts.

Does New Mexico have medical marijuana caregivers?

Yes, New Mexico allows caregivers for those who are under the age of 18 or who cannot easily access cannabis or cannabis products themselves.

New Mexico cannabis caregiver requirements state that a designated caregiver must be at least 21 years old, and they cannot provide for more than one patient at once. If you’re younger than 18, it’s highly recommended to designate at least one parent or guardian as the caregiver. You’ll complete this process upon filling out the New Mexico medical marijuana application form.

How many medical marijuana dispensaries are in New Mexico?

There are dozens of medical marijuana dispensaries in New Mexico. Right now, the state has given out more than 200 licenses for cannabis dispensaries, though not every one of these shops is open and offering product.

You can find medical marijuana dispensaries throughout New Mexico; however, there won’t be any close to or on the nearby reservations, as cannabis is illegal on federal land. While some states have granted tribes access to cannabis use and cultivation, New Mexico isn’t one of them.

How much does medical marijuana cost in New Mexico?

New Mexico medical marijuana costs about the national average. You’ll typically come across grams for anywhere between $8-$12, and eighths from $30-$50. Of course, these prices depend on the quality of flower you buy, as the top-shelf options are going to cost a bit more.

Once the state legalized recreational cannabis, the cost of medical marijuana did see a slight price increase. However, this isn’t likely to stay.

If you’re wondering, “How much is a medical card in New Mexico?” You don’t have to. New Mexico medical marijuana cards are free — there is no fee to apply or get your medical card.

We're not currently live in this state — but our trusted partner Heally is. Click here to see if you qualify.

Approval in 30-minutes or less!

Find Out Today