Medical Marijuana New Hampshire Frequently Asked Questions
Learn more about MMJ and how Elevate Holistics can help you obtain an MMJ card in minutes. Money back guaranteed.
Is Marijuana Legal in New Hampshire?
Is weed legal in New Hampshire? Well, it depends on what type you’re asking about. Medical marijuana in New Hampshire is legal for those with qualifying medical conditions and valid MMJ cards.
Unfortunately, recreational marijuana is not yet legal in the Granite State. However, NH did decriminalize marijuana back in 2017. So, the state punishes those caught with 21 grams or less of product (no more than 300 mg.) with only a $100 fine for a first and second offense. Regardless, this does not give citizens a free pass at consuming cannabis. The best — and safest — way to enjoy cannabis in NH is with a medical marijuana card.
Can I Get Medical Marijuana in New Hampshire?
Yes! New Hampshire legalized medical cannabis in 2013 with the passing of House Bill 573. Those with qualifying medical conditions are allowed to obtain an NH MMJ card and purchase cannabis products.
In order to get medical marijuana in New Hampshire, a certified physician must diagnose you with one of the following conditions:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chronic pancreatitis
- Crohn’s disease
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Hepatitis C
- Multiple sclerosis
- Muscular dystrophy
- Parkinson’s disease
- Spinal cord injury or disease
- Traumatic brain injury
- Ulcerative colitis
These conditions must be debilitating or terminal, or their treatments produce at least one of the following effects:
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Chemotherapy-induced anorexia
- Constant or severe nausea
- Elevated intraocular pressure or glaucoma
- Moderate to severe vomiting
- Muscle spasms
- Severe pain that doesn’t respond to previous medications, surgeries, or other treatment options
How to Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire
If you’re interested in applying for a New Hampshire medical marijuanas card, you first have to visit with a physician licensed in NH or a doctor licensed in Maine, Massachusetts, or Vermont. This physician must diagnose you with one of the conditions listed above. If they do, you will receive a certification stating that they recommend you MMJ.
Once you have this certification, you will head to NH’s Department of Health and Human Services website to fill out the application for their Therapeutic Cannabis Program. With your application, you need to include your recommendation, proof of ID and residency, and the $50 application fee.
After sending this information in, you will hear back from the state within a few weeks about whether or not you’ve been approved for medical marijuana in New Hampshire.
How Much Does Medical Marijuana Cost in New Hampshire?
The prices of medical marijuana in New Hampshire vary depending on where you buy it. In some cities, the cost of products is a bit below market average, while other cities have their buds priced above the national average.
The best thing to do is look at your local dispensaries’ online menus and compare prices. You’ll likely find that some places offer better deals than others; however, you may have to do some driving to get there. Luckily, in general, New Hampshire doesn’t have the priciest weed in the country.
How to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire
After you’ve applied to the state with your medical card recommendation, proof of ID, and registry fee, NH’s Therapeutic Cannabis Program will reach out to you after about three weeks, typically approving or denying applications within 15 days. Once you’ve been approved, the state will issue you your medical card within the following five days.
Can You Grow Weed With a Medical Card?
Unfortunately not. According to New Hampshire marijuana laws, neither patients nor caregivers are allowed to cultivate cannabis. This includes at-home cultivation and cultivation in designated spaces.
There is a chance that this could change with recreational legalization, but that is still up in the air.
How Many Plants Can a Caregiver Grow?
A New Hampshire medical marijuana caregiver cannot grow cannabis for patients. Any sort of cultivation by patients or caregivers is prohibited. If a caregiver is caught growing marijuana, they have their medical marijuana caregiver license revoked.
Are There Dispensaries in New Hampshire?
When applying for your medical marijuana card in New Hampshire, you’ll be asked to select an Alternative Treatment Center (ATC). ATCs are essentially dispensaries in New Hampshire; however, you can only purchase your cannabis from the treatment center you selected. Thus, it’s crucial to pick an ATC that is close to you, has prices you agree with, and the products you require.
If you’re interested in changing your ATC, either because you moved or for some other reason, you can do so. You just have to fill out a Change of Information form and submit it to the program.
You have a handful of ATCs to choose from in New Hampshire. This full list comes from NH’s Therapeutic Cannabis Program’s application itself:
Prime Alternative Treatment Centers of NH – dispensaries located in Merrimack and Chichester
380 Daniel Webster Highway, Units A and C, Merrimack, NH 03054.
Phone: (603) 262-5035
349 Dover Road (Route 4), Chichester, NH 03258.
Phone: (603) 212-1500
Sanctuary ATC – dispensaries located in Plymouth and Conway
568 Tenney Mountain Highway, Plymouth, NH 03264.
Phone: (603) 346-4619 234
White Mountain Highway (Route 16), Conway, NH 03818.
Phone: (603) 662-0113
Temescal Wellness – dispensaries located in Dover, Lebanon, & Keene
26 Crosby Road, Units 11-12, Dover, NH 03820
367 Route 120, Unit E-2, Lebanon, NH 03766
69 Island Street, Suite 1, Keene, NH 03431
Phone: (603) 285-9383
Does New Hampshire Accept Out-of-State MMJ Cards?
Technically, no: out-of-state medical patients cannot purchase products from ATCs. However, they are allowed to possess cannabis in the state as long as they have a medical card for a condition that’s on NH’s qualifying list.
Do you qualify for a medical card?
Approval in 30-minutes or less!