Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is cannabis legal in Oregon?

    Yes, Oregon first legalized medicinal cannabis back in 1998 and then legalized cannabis recreationally in 2014. 

  • Who can get a medical marijuana card?

    To get a medical marijuana card in Oregon, you must be an in-state resident that has been diagnosed with at least one qualifying condition by a licensed physician.

  • What are the qualifying medical conditions?

    The qualifying medical conditions for an Oregon MMJ card are:

     

    • Cancer
    • Glaucoma
    • A degenerative or pervasive neurological condition
    • HIV/AIDS
    • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
    • A medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that produces one or more of the following:
      – Cachexia (a weight-loss disease that can be caused by HIV or cancer)
      – Severe pain
      – Severe nausea
      – Seizures, including but not limited to seizures caused by epilepsy
      – Persistent muscle spasm, including but not limited to spasms caused by multiple sclerosis

  • How do I apply for a card?

    Applying for your card is simple: just head over to Oregon Health Authority’s Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) website to get started. 

  • How much does the card cost?

    The registration fee for your MMJ card is $200.

    Those receiving SNAP benefits, SSI, on an OHP health plan, or if you’ve served in the Armed Forces qualify for a reduced fee. 

  • How long will it take to get my Oregon MMJ card?

    Once you submit a complete application, you will receive a receipt confirming your medical status. This receipt will act similarly to your actual MMJ card for the first 30 days after getting it. As soon as you get this confirmation receipt, you will receive your actual MMJ card in the mail once your application is fully processed.

  • What kind of doctor is qualified to recommend medical cannabis?

    Only attending physicians are qualified to recommend medical cannabis.

  • Can I cultivate cannabis at home?

    Adults who are at least 21 years of age and do not have any felony convictions can legally grow up to four plants of cannabis in their home. These plants cannot be seen by the public eye whatsoever, and need to be kept in a locked, secure area.

     

    Medical patients who do decide to cultivate at home must contact the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program and provide the name of the grower and the grow site address. If approved, medical patients can grow up to six mature plants and 12 immature plants.

  • How much cannabis can I legally possess?

    Medical patients and recreational users have different possession limits. Recreational consumers can possess, in private: 

    • 8 ounces usable marijuana (dried leaves and flowers)
    • One ounce of cannabinoid extracts or concentrates (must be purchased from a licensed marijuana retailer)
    • 16 ounces cannabinoid product in solid form
    • 72 ounces cannabinoid product in liquid form
    • 10 marijuana seeds; AND
    • Four marijuana plants

    Medical patients, however, can possess a bit more. Medical possession guidelines are:

    • 24 ounces of usable marijuana
    • 16 ounces of a medical cannabinoid product in solid form
    • 72 ounces of a medical cannabinoid product in liquid form
    • 16 ounces of a cannabinoid concentrate whether sold alone or contained in an inhalant delivery system
    • Five grams of a cannabinoid extract whether sold alone or contained in an inhalant delivery system
    • Four immature marijuana plants
    • 50 seeds

  • How do I find licensed dispensaries in Oregon?

    You can find licensed dispensaries all across the state by viewing this list of registered shops on the OMMP website.

  • Does Oregon test its cannabis products?

    Yes, Oregon tests all of its cannabis products for their cannabinoid levels and potency, as well as ensuring there is no presence of heavy metals, microbes, pesticides, or residual solvents.