West virginia MMJ Faqs

No, recreational marijuana is not legal in the state of West Virginia. However, legalizing marijuana for recreational use is being considered via House Bill 2291 and Senate Bill 649.

Currently, West Virginia weed laws account for the possession of small amounts of cannabis as a misdemeanor crime. First-time offenders possessing any amount of cannabis may be incarcerated for a minimum of 90 days to a maximum of 6 months and may be fined up to $1,000.

Yes, medical marijuana is legal in West Virginia! The West Virginia Office of Medical Cannabis operates the West Virginia medical marijuana program, which became legal after Governor Jim Justice signed the Medical Cannabis Act in 2017.

Patients suffering from qualifying conditions who have received a licensed physician’s referral can apply for medical marijuana in WV. Being a part of the program gives you access to various forms of medical marijuana WV, with limitations to:

  • Cannabis-infused pills
  • Topicals – gels, creams, or ointments
  • Dermal patch
  • Liquid
  • Tincture
  • Oils
  • Dry leaf or plant form, which is medically appropriate for administration by nebulization or vaporization.

How to get a medical card in West Virginia

To get a medical marijuana card in West Virginia and be able to purchase medical cannabis in West Virginia dispensaries, you have to have the following qualifications:

  • Be diagnosed with a medical condition that qualifies for medical cannabis use according to West Virginia medical marijuana laws
  • Have an official Patient Certification Form from a licensed physician in West Virginia.
  • Be a West Virginia resident with valid proof of residency.

With all these in place, you can apply for your medical cannabis card in the state’s registration portal. According to medical card guidelines WV, you may have to wait a minimum of 30 – 60 days to get feedback.

The state makes provision for telehealth. As a leading marijuana telehealth provider in the U.S, Elevate Holistics helps link patients to medical marijuana doctors for virtual appointments and makes the application process a lot easier and faster. We make it possible for you to handle all aspects of the application, including diagnosis, from the comfort of your home.

How much is a medical card?

A West Virginia medical card costs $50. However, patients can apply for a financial hardship waiver and get it for free if they have a household income of 200% of the U.S federal poverty level or less.

How much does medical marijuana cost?

There is no one-size-fits-all price on medical marijuana. Hence, the costs vary across West Virginia dispensaries depending on the product or marijuana strain you are purchasing.

Does insurance pay for medical marijuana?

No, to the best of our knowledge, insurance companies do not pay for medical marijuana due to possible conflict with federal laws.

However, you can check with your insurance provider to confirm if they make any provisions for medical marijuana.

Will Medicare pay for medical marijuana?

No, Medicare won’t cover any cost associated with medical marijuana. Marijuana is considered a Schedule I controlled substance; hence, Medicare does not cover it due to conflicts with federal law.

Can I grow marijuana in West Virginia?

No, as a patient, you can’t grow marijuana in West Virginia. While patients can grow some marijuana plants in most other legal states, WV medical marijuana law does not make a provision for West Virginia patients to grow their own medical marijuana.

The authorization for growing medical marijuana in WV is limited to state-licensed growing and processing facilities. Any attempt to grow marijuana for medical or recreational use in WV is a punishable offense.

Can I use my medical card in another state?

Yes, you can use your medical marijuana card in another state. West Virginia law allows for reciprocity; hence, you can use your medical in other states that offer medical cannabis reciprocity. But if a state does not allow for reciprocity, you may not be able to use your card in such states.

Note: West Virginia reciprocity only applies to terminally ill cancer patients and may only be applicable where the other state’s law on the use and purchase of medical cannabis is comparable or consistent with the WV Medical Cannabis Act requirements.

Does West Virginia have dispensaries?

Yes, West Virginia has dispensaries located across the state. The state’s Department of Health and Human Resources provided licenses for some marijuana companies to open their dispensary in West Virginia.

With these dispensaries open, you will be able to use your medical card and marijuana prescription to access and purchase medical marijuana products in any WV dispensary.

What conditions qualify for medical marijuana?

Some serious medical conditions listed in the Medical Cannabis Act count as the qualifying conditions for a WV marijuana card. They include:

How to renew medical cards online

According to provisions made by the state of West Virginia, patients can renew their medical marijuana card online through telehealth services just like Elevate Holistics. You’ll simply find one of these services and pay a flat fee to have them renew your card for you. It really is as easy as that.

Even though we’re not currently servicing WV residents, we aim to do this in the future.