Take the first step toward wellness
In 2010 medical marijuana was legalized in New Jersey for patients that have one or more qualifying conditions. As a cardholder, you’ll be able to purchase and possess medical marijuana and cannabis products from local dispensaries. There are limitations to the amount of cannabis you can purchase and possess.
If you’re looking to get your medical marijuana card in Flemington, NJ there are some things you’ll need to know and we break everything down for you to see if you qualify:
Medical Marijuana Cards in Flemington, NJ
The only way to determine if your medical condition qualifies for a medical marijuana card is to schedule an appointment with a physician. This approved by the state doctor will certify that you have an approved debilitating medical condition that allows you to participate in the Medicinal Marijuana Program.
Some of these debilitating medical conditions include:
- Chronic Pain
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Muscular dystrophy
- Opioid Use Disorder
- HIV and AIDS
If the doctor certifies your condition as a qualified condition you can begin the application process. You’ll need proof of your New Jersey residency, and proof of identification as well as a recent photograph to complete your application. Your driver’s license or government-issued ID from the state of New Jersey is acceptable for proof of identification. You’ll need a bank statement, utility bill, or government correspondence with your address on it for proof of residency. You can take a photograph on a plain white background and do not use any filters, this photo will go on your medical card.
Once you’ve submitted the application and all of the required documents your application will need to be reviewed before being approved. You’ll receive an email once you’ve been approved. Follow the link in the email to pay for your medical card. In a few log into your account to check the status of your application, but you will receive a few short weeks you’ll have your card in hand and be able to purchase medical marijuana.
Medical Marijuana Laws
The laws are fairly simple. In 2020 recreational use of marijuana was made legal in New Jersey. But it is much more beneficial to obtain a medical card, as you have a better selection of weed and cannabis products, save money on the cost, and are allowed to possess and grow more plants.
Without a medical card, you can legally purchase only one ounce of flower, whereas with a card you can purchase six ounces of flower. If you are 21 years or older you can grow up to six plants at home, and 12 per household. Medical cardholders can grow up to 10 plants in their home.
If you have a medical marijuana card for another state, New Jersey offers reciprocity for a few other states including Rhode Island and Nevada the first six months. This allows you ample time to begin the process of obtaining a New Jersey medical marijuana card.
Medical marijuana doctors near me
When choosing a marijuana doctor in Flemington, NJ you’ll need to verify that they are approved to provide marijuana certifications. There aren’t very many approved doctors in the area. You can start with your current physician. At Elevate Holistics we’ve already done the research for you. We work with registered NJMMP doctors, so we’ve already taken the guessing game out of the equation.
What is the price of getting a medical card
The cost of getting a medical card in Flemington for both patients and caregivers is $100 each. You are not required to make this payment until you’ve been approved for a New Jersey medical marijuana card. You’ll be notified by email. This email will include a link to make the payment.
However, you can get this cost reduced to $20 each if you participate in the NJ Medicaid Program, or if you receive Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits, NJ Temporary Disability Insurance benefits (TDI), Supplemental Security Income Benefits (SSI) or Social Security Disability Benefits (SSD).
How often do I have to renew my medical marijuana card?
Your medical card will need to be renewed every two years. The renewal process is similar to the initial application process. You’ll be required to get your medical condition qualified.
Where can I find a dispensary in Flemington, NJ?
There are plenty of Flemington dispensaries to choose from, although they are referred to as alternative treatment centers and not dispensaries. Most dispensaries have a wide variety of products from dried unprocessed medical marijuana that can be found in a variety of strengths and strains to THC infused products. Some products you can purchase are Flower, Oil, Oral lozenges, and Topicals.
Understanding how these products will affect you and which ones will most benefit your specific medical conditions makes selecting the best product simple. This is why it’s essential that you choose a knowledgeable dispensary.
You will be allowed to purchase medical marijuana in 1/4 or 1/8 ounce denominations. The amount you can buy will depend on the dosage you were given by your health care practitioner. However, you can only buy a maximum of 3 ounces in a 30 day period.
Many alternative treatment centers in New Jersey deliver or offer curbside pick-up.
Does my medical card allow me to buy edibles?
As a qualifying patient with a medical card in Flemington, NJ you can purchase edibles. You’ll find a variety of potencies and strains to choose from.
Am I allowed to grow my own marijuana?
No, it is illegal in the state of New Jersey to grow your own marijuana. Even with a medical card, you cannot grow.
Medical marijuana cards and caregivers
If you are a qualified patient that is unable to use or purchase medical marijuana on your own then you’ll be able to designate a primary caregiver. The caregiver must register with the NJ Medicinal Marijuana Program. They will then be legally allowed to purchase medicinal marijuana from a selected Alternative Treatment Center.
You do not need to designate a caregiver if you do not need assistance to purchase from a dispensary.
Is medical marijuana legal in New Jersey?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in New Jersey! The Garden State legalized MMJ back in 2010, becoming the 14th state in the US to do so.
Unfortunately, once Gov. Chris Christie took office in late January 2010, he stalled the legislation, preventing the medical marijuana program from opening for another two years. It wasn’t until August of 2012 that New Jersey finally started allowing patients onto the medical marijuana registry.
Are edibles legal in New Jersey?
For a while, edibles weren’t legal in New Jersey for medical patients. However, recently, the state has finally updated its New Jersey marijuana laws, allowing for edible forms of cannabis. Soon, you’ll be able to buy edibles capped at 100 mg. of THC.
Does New Jersey accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards?
Yes! New Jersey allows out-of-state medical patients to purchase and possess cannabis from licensed dispensaries. You can have a medical card from any other state in the US and New Jersey will find your card valid and worthy of purchasing.
Out-of-state consumers can legally purchase and possess New Jersey MMJ for up to six months while visiting.
How much marijuana can you have with a medical card?
If you have a New Jersey medical card, you can possess up to three ounces — or 85 grams — within a 30-day period. However, those who are terminally ill or in hospice care do not have a monthly allotment and can purchase as much medical cannabis as they require.
Adult consumers can possess up to six ounces of cannabis or 17 grams of hash. Any more and this is a crime of the fourth degree.
How much does medical marijuana cost in New Jersey?
The cost of medical marijuana in New Jersey depends on where you purchase it from. However, on average, you’ll find that cannabis products in the Garden State are a bit higher than in other legalized states throughout the US.
Studies have shown that NJ patients pay an average of $320 to $480 per ounce. In most states, consumers pay closer to $250 for an ounce of cannabis.
Where can I buy medical marijuana in New Jersey?edical marijuana cost in New Jersey?
You can purchase your New Jersey recreational weed — and medical cannabis — from dispensaries all throughout the state.
As long as you have your medical card, or are at least 21 years old, you can walk into any licensed dispensary and purchase medical cannabis.
According to New Jersey dispensary laws, you must have your medical card or proof of identification to make a purchase.
70 Church St, Flemington, NJ 08822