Missouri Marijuana Laws
Missouri marijuana laws can be a bit confusing. So, what are the laws with cannabis in the Show-Me State? Let’s find out.
So, is marijuana legal in Missouri?
Let's find out.
Missouri marijuana laws can be, well, confusing.
Cannabis regulations in the US have long been complicated and muddied, leaving people unsure of the regulations in their area. Because MMJ laws vary from state to state, it can often be challenging to keep up with what’s legal and what’s not. But that’s precisely why we’re here.
Today, Elevate Holistics is breaking down the laws with cannabis in Missouri. We’re covering everything from legalities to possession limits and even where to purchase your own products. Ready to master Missouri marijuana laws? Let’s get started.
Is Weed Legal in Missouri?
Let’s start with the million-dollar question: is marijuana legal in Missouri? Yes: both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in Missouri.
The state first proposed the idea of cannabis for medical use back in 2014 with the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program. The MHERP allowed MO residents access to hemp products with 0.3% THC or less if they had qualifying medical conditions. This stayed the norm until 2018, when the state finally voted to legalize medical marijuana fully with the Missouri Amendment 2.
Residents then voted to legalize cannabis recreationally in November of 2022, with the program taking effect in February of 2023. Today, both adult-use and medical patients have access to the plant in Missouri.
How Much Cannabis Can You Possess?
As soon as you have your medical card, one of the most important things to consider is possession limits. So, how much weed can you have in Missouri?
According to Missouri marijuana laws, patients and caregivers can possess a 60-day supply of dried cannabis (or the equivalent of another product) at one time. In MO, a 60-day supply is eight ounces or 226 grams.
Recreational consumers are allowed to possess up to three ounces at once, but no more.
If you possess more than your allotted supply, you may be fined $200 and have your MMJ card revoked. It’s not worth it, so don’t do it.
Age Limit for Possession
Now, how old do you have to be to buy weed in Missouri?
If you don’t have a medical card, you have to be at least 21 years old to buy weed in Missouri. When you shop from the dispensary, you’ll be asked to present your ID to prove your age.
You must be at least 18 years old to get a valid MMJ card, though. Not only that, but you must be a MO resident and demonstrate one of the various qualifying conditions the state requires. To qualify, you’ll need to sit down with a physician who can get you a medical recommendation for MMJ (which is exactly what we do here at Elevate, by the way).
If you are under the age of 18, you can still get your medical card. You will just need a designated caregiver to complete the medical paperwork and purchase your marijuana products for you. Again, you have to qualify for at least one medical condition. Typically, if you’re a minor, Missouri marijuana laws prefer your caregiver to be a parental figure or legal guardian.
Can You Grow Your Own Weed in Missouri?
Okay, what about home cultivation — is that allowed?
Yes, you can grow your own weed in Missouri, but there are a lot of stipulations you have to follow.
At-home cultivation in MO is legal for medical patients as long as you grow your plants in a locked, enclosed facility that the DHSS (Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services) approves. Once a patient has their chosen garden or facility, the DHSS will inspect it and, if approved, you will pay your fees.
But, how many weed plants can you grow in Missouri? According to Missouri marijuana laws, a medical patient can cultivate up to six flowering plants, six non-flowering plants, and six clones. The clones must be shorter than 14 inches.
It’s important to note that two patients may share the same grow facility. In this case, you cannot grow more than 12 plants in this space unless you’re a caregiver growing on behalf of a third patient. (If this happens, you can cultivate no more than 18 plants.)
You must label all of your cannabis plants with your name (or the patient’s name) and clearly display your facility’s DHSS cultivation authorization.
Who is Allowed to Sell Marijuana in Missouri?
Missouri marijuana laws assign the DHSS to issue all licenses for both growers and dispensaries. Thus, only DHSS-approved licensed dispensaries are allowed to sell marijuana in the Show-Me State. You wouldn’t want to purchase it anywhere else, anyway! Dispensaries are the most legitimate locations to buy your medical marijuana always.
Elevate Holistics focuses on helping people like you get your Missouri medical marijuana card effortlessly. With our services, you’ll book an appointment with one of our expert physicians, meeting with them 100% online.
At your telehealth appointment, our physicians will talk with you about your medical needs and determine if your conditions qualify with the state. From there, we’ll provide you with the medical recommendation Missouri needs to get you your MMJ card. It really is as easy as 1, 2, 3.
Now that you’re fluent in Missouri marijuana laws, it’s time to get your own medical card. Book an appointment with Elevate using the button below, and get started on your MO cannabis journey.