Frequently Asked Questions about Missouri's Medical Marijuana Program
Q - What are the residency requirements to get a Medical Marijuana card in Missouri?
A - You must be a resident of Missouri. The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) won’t allow out-of-state patients to apply for a Missouri Medical Marijuana card.
Q - Can I apply if I live out of state?
A - Missouri does not grant medical marijuana licenses to out-of-state patients.
Q - What are the age requirements?
A - You must be 18 years or older. Minors are not allowed to get a card. A parent or guardian of a minor seeking Medical Marijuana treatment may apply for a caregiver license, however.
Q - What is a primary caregiver?
A - A Primary Caregiver is someone who is at least 21 years old and responsible for the well-being of a qualified patient.
- Must be licensed by DHSS
- Must be listed as the qualified patient's caregiver on the application for an ID card and on the licensed qualified patient's approved application
- Caregivers must submit a Patient Authorization Form with their caregiver application. This document can be found on the DHSS website and must be both completed and signed by the qualified patient
Q - What are the qualifying conditions for getting a Medical Marijuana license?
A - In Missouri, the law allows for medical marijuana to be used in the treatment for only the following conditions:
- Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment
- A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome
- Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including, but not limited to, post-traumatic stress disorder if diagnosed by a state-licensed psychiatrist
- Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication
- Any terminal illness AND/OR
- In the professional judgment of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including, but not limited to, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia and wasting syndrome.
Q - What medical documentation do I need to apply?
A - In Missouri, you will need valid identification and medical records regarding your condition when you visit a medical professional for an evaluation.
Q -How much am I allowed to own and purchase?
A - In Missouri, a patient can have six (6) flowering plants in their home, and can possess up to 4 ounces or a 60-day supply of dried marijuana.
Q - Where are the dispensaries?
A - Dispensaries are located all over the state! Visit the interactive map on our homepage to find the dispensary that works best for your specific situation.
Q - How long does it take to get my card once I’ve applied?
A - The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) processes their applications within 30 days.
Q - Can I choose my own caregiver?
A - Yes. Under qualifying circumstances, a license will be granted that provides a designated caregiver to licensed patients. The qualifying circumstances can be found on the application. You will, however, need to provide valid, documented information as to why you need a caregiver.
Interested in learning more about being a caregiver? Click here.
Q - How long does my patient license last?
A - In Missouri, medical marijuana licenses are valid for one year from date of issue.
Q - What does Article XIV Section One really mean?
A - Article XIV allows state-licensed physicians to recommend medical marijuana for certain qualifying conditions, provides patients the right to discuss possible benefits of medical marijuana, and establishes a patient’s right to use medical marijuana under the supervision of a physician.
Q - What is medical marijuana?
A - Medical marijuana in Missouri refers to any strain of cannabis with a tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) content of greater than 0.3% on a dry weight basis. Products containing forms of cannabis or hemp or chemicals from cannabis or hemp with lower amounts of THC are not considered medical marijuana in Missouri.
Q - How can medical marijuana be used?
A - Medical marijuana can be used in different ways such as inhalation through smoking and vaporization, by mouth with edibles, tinctures, capsules, and oils, sublingually by using products applied under the tongue like tinctures, dissolvable strips, lozenges, or sprays, or topicals like lotions, salves, bath salts or oils. It’s important to note that the different methods will affect you in different ways.
Q - Do people who qualify for a medical marijuana card in other states automatically qualify in Missouri?
A - Just because someone qualified for a medical marijuana card in another state does not mean they automatically qualify in Missouri.
Q - What questions should I ask my doctor about marijuana?
A - You should ask your doctor:
- What are the risks related to marijuana therapy?
- Do the known benefits outweigh the risks?
- Will marijuana therapy affect the use of any medications I am currently taking?
- What side effects can be expected?
- Will marijuana therapy be covered by my health insurance?
Q - If I turn in an incomplete application, what happens?
A - If DHSS finds an application is incomplete, they will email the applicant’s email and will specify which information is missing. Applicants must resubmit the application with all information within 10 days of the email notification or their application will be denied.
Q - Why would an application for a medical marijuana ID card be denied?
A - An application could be denied if an applicant:
- Provides false or misleading information on the application
- Fails to provide a complete application within 10 days of being notified that an application is incomplete
- Receives two denials within a 12-month period, any subsequent application within that time period will be denied
Q - Who is legally allowed to possess medical marijuana in Missouri?
A - Those who are legally allowed to possess medical marijuana include:
- Only patients or their caregivers who have a valid DHSS-issued ID card.
- A person with a pending qualified patient or caregiver application that has been filed with MMMP’s patient registry as long as they are able to produce their valid physician certification and show proof of pending registry.
- An equivalent ID card or authorization issued by another state or political subdivision of another state will also meet the requirements for possession.
- If requested, the possessor of medical marijuana must produce on demand to the appropriate authority, a valid ID card.
Q - What does a medical marijuana patient need to take to the dispensary to purchase medical marijuana?
A - All you need is a valid Missouri medical marijuana identification card and your chosen form of payment.
Q - How much medical marijuana can I purchase from a dispensary?
A - Qualified patients who do not cultivate or have medical marijuana cultivated on their behalf may have up to a 60 day supply (or eight ounces) of dried unprocessed marijuana or its equivalent.
Q - Can a licensed medical marijuana patient consume medical marijuana in public?
A - A licensed patient shall not consume marijuana for medical use in a public place unless provided by law. 19 CSR 30-95.010(33) defines a public place as any public or private property, or portion of public or private property, that is open to the general public, including but not limited to, sidewalks, streets, bridges, parks, schools, and businesses.
Q - What information must a dispensary provide to their customers?
A - All dispensary facilities must make available to all customers patient education materials that include at least the information described in 19 CSR 30-95.080(2)(B)1-5.
- Local resources for concerns about addiction as well as the phone number for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s National Helpline at 1-800-662-4357.
- Information about the different strains of medical marijuana available at that dispensary and the purported effects of the different strains.
- Information about the purported effectiveness of various methods, forms, and routes of administering medical marijuana.
- Information about potential risks and possible side effects of medical marijuana use, including the risk of poisoning and the phone number for the closet poison control center.
- The prohibition on consuming marijuana for medical use in a public place, including the definition of what constitutes a public place pursuant to this rule.
Q - What security regulations must be adhered to if you’re growing your own medical marijuana?
A - All persons growing their own medical marijuana must:
- All qualifying patient cultivation shall take place in an enclosed, locked facility that is equipped with security devices that permit access only by the qualifying patient or by such a patient’s primary caregiver.
- One qualifying patient may cultivate up to six flowering marijuana plants, six non-flowering marijuana plants (over 14 inches tall), and six clones (plants under 14 inches tall) at any given time in a single, enclosed locked facility.
- Two qualifying patients, who both hold valid qualifying patient cultivation ID cards, may share one enclosed, locked facility. No more than 12 flowering marijuana plants, 12 nonflowering plants, and 12 clones may be cultivated in a single, enclosed locked facility, unless one of the qualifying patients, as a primary caregiver, also holds a patient cultivation ID card for another patient. In such a case, the primary caregiver may cultivate six additional flowering marijuana plants, six additional non-flowering marijuana plants, and six additional clones for a total of 18 flowering marijuana plants, 18 non-flowering marijuana plants, and 18 clones in a single, enclosed locked facility.
- All cultivated flowering marijuana plants in the possession of a qualifying patient or primary caregiver shall be clearly labeled with the qualifying patient’s name.
- DHSS-issued cultivation authorization shall be clearly displayed within the enclosed cultivation area and in close proximity to the marijuana plants. The authorization shall list the name of the qualifying patient or primary caregiver and the address of the facility in which that qualifying patient or primary caregiver is authorized to cultivate marijuana.
- “Enclosed, locked facility” means— An indoor stationary closet, room, garage, greenhouse, or other comparable fully enclosed space equipped with locks or other functioning security devices that permit access to only the qualifying patient(s) or primary caregiver(s) who have informed DHSS that this is the space where they will cultivate marijuana.
- An outdoor stationary structure means— That is enclosed on all sides, except at the base, by chain-link fencing, wooden slats, or similar material that is anchored, attached, or affixed to the ground and that cannot be accessed from the top.
- In which the plants are not visible to the unaided eye from an adjacent property when viewed by an individual at ground level or from a permanent structure at any level.
- That is equipped with locks or other security devices that permit access to only the qualifying patient(s) or primary caregiver(s) who have informed DHSS that this is the space where they will cultivate marijuana.
Want to learn more about medical cannabis from a doctor's perspective?
Read our INTRODUCTORY GUIDE written by Dr. Gillian Jones.