Medical Marijuana New Jersey Frequently Asked Questions
Learn more about MMJ and how Elevate Holistics can help you obtain an MMJ card in minutes. Money back guaranteed.
Is medical marijuana legal in New Jersey?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in New Jersey! The Garden State legalized MMJ back in 2010, becoming the 14th state in the US to do so.
Unfortunately, once Gov. Chris Christie took office in late January 2010, he stalled the legislation, preventing the medical marijuana program from opening for another two years. It wasn’t until August of 2012 that New Jersey finally started allowing patients onto the medical marijuana registry.
Are edibles legal in New Jersey?
For a while, edibles weren’t legal in New Jersey for medical patients. However, recently, the state has finally updated its New Jersey marijuana laws, allowing for edible forms of cannabis. Soon, you’ll be able to buy edibles capped at 100 mg. of THC.
Does New Jersey accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards?
Yes! New Jersey allows out-of-state medical patients to purchase and possess cannabis from licensed dispensaries. You can have a medical card from any other state in the US and New Jersey will find your card valid and worthy of purchasing.
Out-of-state consumers can legally purchase and possess New Jersey MMJ for up to six months while visiting.
How much marijuana can you have with a medical card?
If you have a New Jersey medical card, you can possess up to three ounces — or 85 grams — within a 30-day period. However, those who are terminally ill or in hospice care do not have a monthly allotment and can purchase as much medical cannabis as they require.
Adult consumers can possess up to six ounces of cannabis or 17 grams of hash. Any more and this is a crime of the fourth degree.
How much does medical marijuana cost in New Jersey?
The cost of medical marijuana in New Jersey depends on where you purchase it from. However, on average, you’ll find that cannabis products in the Garden State are a bit higher than in other legalized states throughout the US.
Studies have shown that NJ patients pay an average of $320 to $480 per ounce. In most states, consumers pay closer to $250 for an ounce of cannabis.
Where can I buy medical marijuana in New Jersey?edical marijuana cost in New Jersey?
You can purchase your New Jersey recreational weed — and medical cannabis — from dispensaries all throughout the state.
As long as you have your medical card, or are at least 21 years old, you can walk into any licensed dispensary and purchase medical cannabis.
According to New Jersey dispensary laws, you must have your medical card or proof of identification to make a purchase.
Table of Contents
Ready To Get Your MMJ Card?
With Elevate Holistics, medical marijuana doesn’t have to be intimidating. Our process is quick, affordable, and done entirely online. It’s never been so easy
Want to learn more about cannabis?
We’ve got all the canna-resources for you. Below, you can scroll through our common medical conditions pages, MMJ FAQs, and our constantly updated blog.
Elevate Holistics’ blog is the one place you will need to access all the latest news and information about the world of cannabis
You’ve got questions about medical cannabis and all of the laws associated; we’ve got answers. Here is the state breakdown.
What medical conditions qualify for an MMJ card in your state?
Find out here.