The rules for applying for a medical marijuana ID card can seem overwhelming. So, we’ve decided to simplify the process. Below, we’ve listed what you—the primary caregiver—should have prepared before applying as a Missouri medical marijuana caregiver. That way, you won’t find yourself gridlocked in a bunch of red tape.
Things to Know Before Apply as a Caregiver in MO
Watch our short video to learn more about Caregivers
- To qualify as a Missouri primary caregiver, you must be 21 or over and be significantly responsible for “managing the well-being of a qualifying patient.”
- You must have a signed Missouri patient authorization form naming you as the MMJ patient’s caregiver.
- You must have an email address. The first step of the process is registering for the Missouri Medical Marijuana Program Portal. Email and phone number are required.
- You can’t be a caregiver to more than three qualifying patients.
- You can’t qualify for a patient that already has two primary caregivers.
- Only a parent or guardian can be a primary caregiver for someone under 18.
Applying to Become an MMJ Caregiver in Missouri?
Below is an overview of Missouri Caregiver Rules so you can apply confidently and within the laws outlined by the state.
Who Can Apply?
- Must be a resident of Missouri
- Must have a valid, unrestricted driver’s license or state-issued ID card
- Must be at least 21 years old
What Documents are Required?
- Completed application form and associated paperwork from the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS)
- Medical authorization form signed by the patient or designated caregiver, on behalf of the patient, as well as by two physicians licensed to practice in Missouri, with one being the attending physician for the qualifying medical condition
Information and Items Needed to Apply
If you’re an MMJ patient caregiver, the last thing you need is to waste time on an online application. Therefore, we’ll tell you how to make the process go smoothly and avoid delays. First, gather the following items and information so you’ll be ready to zip through the application process:
- Name, date of birth, social security number
- An email address; phone number
- Residence address and mailing address (where you can receive mail)
- The name and Patient License Number of the qualifying patient
- A clear copy of state or federal government-issued photo ID (uploaded on your device)
- If you are the caregiver for someone under 18, a copy of a birth certificate, adoption record, or document showing that you are their parent or have legal guardianship (uploaded on your device)
- A clear, color photo of your face, taken within the last three months (uploaded in your device)
- If you want to cultivate marijuana for the patient, provide:
- the address where you will grow it
- a description of the security you will use to restrict access to it
- the name and Patient License Number or Caregiver License Number of one other qualifying patient or primary caregiver with whom your cultivating facility will be shared
- a statement saying you will immediately make access to this area available to the department.
- A signed patient authorization form (unless you are the parent or guardian of the patient)
- Be prepared to pay: $25 caregiver fee; $100 cultivation fee, if applicable.
What is the Process After Applying?
Upon receipt and review of completed applications, DHSS will issue a caregiver identification card within 30 days.
Things to Keep in Mind
Here are some other things to keep an eye on and maybe write down in your calendar, to make things easier later.
- When you apply, the DHSS has 30 days to approve or deny your application, in which case it must provide the reason, in writing, for the denial. If the department fails to approve/deny within 30 days, the applicant will automatically receive a card.
- Only complete applications will be considered received. The department will notify you one time only if your application is incomplete and will tell you what is missing. You only have 10 days to resubmit.
- Your primary caregiver ID expires in 12 months. You must renew by submitting online anytime 30-60 days before expiration.
- You can apply to cultivate marijuana for your patient when you apply for your caregiver ID or at a later time. However, authorization to cultivate will expire at the same time as your primary caregiver ID, and the application fee will still be $100 no matter how much time remains until your ID expiration.
- Only one of you in the patient/caregiver relationship can apply to cultivate for the patient
When you apply for your Missouri Medical Marijuana Primary Caregiver ID on the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services website (the only way you can register):
- Click on the blue button that says, “Patient/Caregiver Application Registration”
- Hit “yes” to be taken to the registration portal
- Click on the green register button at the top right corner
Some Helpful Links
Marijuana Monthly Purchase Limits and Form Conversions
How to Download Your Caregiver ID
Patient Authorization Form
For any questions, while applying, the Registry User Guide
Caregivers Need Care Too
We know that you have more important things to tend to than reading a 19-page document on the Missouri Medical Marijuana Rules. So we did it for you. Please contact us with any questions. We’re here to make the process quick and convenient. If you’re ready to get your online appointment started click here!