Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is medical marijuana legal in Montana? What about recreational cannabis?

    Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Montana for qualifying cardholders. 

     

    Adult-use, or recreational cannabis, was just recently passed for legalization at the end of 2020, coming into effect on January 1, 2021, for those 21 and older. 

  • Who can obtain a medical marijuana card?

    To obtain a Montana medical marijuana card, you must be an in-state resident and have at least one of the qualifying medical conditions listed in the program. Those who are 18 and older can apply on their own, but minors must have a caregiver apply on their behalf. 

  • What are the qualifying medical conditions necessary to get your MMJ card in Montana?

    The qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Montana are:

     

    • Admittance into hospice
    • Cachexia, or wasting syndrome 
    • Cancer
    • Central nervous pain disorder resulting in chronic, painful muscle spasms
    • Chronic pain that is persistent and significantly interferes with daily activities 
    • Crohn’s disease
    • Epilepsy or any other intractable seizure disorder
    • Glaucoma
    • HIV/AIDS when it results in symptoms that seriously affect a patient’s health
    • Intractable nausea or vomiting
    • Multiple sclerosis 
    • Peripheral neuropathy
    • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

  • What documents are required to receive your medical card?

    To receive your medical card, you will need to submit:

     

    • A clear, passport-like photo of yourself that is not altered in any way
    • Copy of driver’s license, MT state ID, or MT Tribal ID 
      • For minors, they will need a copy of the legal guardian’s ID
    • Signed physician’s statement qualifying you for a debilitating medical condition

  • How long is the card valid for?

    Your Montana MMJ card is valid for up to one year depending on your physician’s recommendation. After that, the card must be renewed or it is no longer acceptable.

  • How much is the application fee?

    The first time you register for your medical card, you will have to pay a fee of $30. If you lose your card and require a replacement, the fee for this will be $10.

  • Where can you buy/consume medical cannabis in Montana?

    Medical patients can only purchase cannabis from licensed dispensaries across the state. You can consume cannabis in the safety of your own private residence, but consumption anywhere public is completely prohibited. Operating any sort of vehicle while under the influence of medical cannabis is illegal, as well. 

  • What are the possession limits for medical cannabis?

    Medical patients are legally allowed to possess up to one ounce of cannabis at a time.

  • Can you go into a dispensary without a medical card in Montana?

    Yes, you can go into a dispensary without a medical card to purchase hemp-derived CBD products only.

  • Does Montana allow out-of-state patients to purchase at licensed dispensaries?

    No, there is no reciprocity in Montana. 

  • Does Montana test their cannabis products?

    Yes, all cannabis products in Montana must be subject to lab testing to ensure there is no presence of unnatural/unhealthy additives, and that their cannabinoid contents adhere to state law.