Frequently Asked Questions about Oklahoma OMMA Medical Marijuana Licenses
Q - What are the residency requirements to get a Medical Marijuana card in Oklahoma?
A - You must be a resident of Oklahoma. The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) won’t allow out-of-state patients to apply for an Oklahoma Medical Marijuana card.
Q - Can I apply if live out of state?
A – Only if you have a valid Medical Marijuana card or license from your home state. If you do, you can apply for a temporary license that allows you to buy, use, or grow medical marijuana from an Oklahoma dispensary. These licenses are only valid for 30 days and this 30-day period cannot extend pass the expiration date on your home-state license. After 30 days or after the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana license expires, it must be renewed.
Q - What are the age requirements?
A - You must be 18 years or older. Minors are not allowed to get a card. A parent or guardian of a minor seeking Medical Marijuana treatment may apply for a caregiver license, however.
Q - What are the qualifying conditions for getting a Medical Marijuana license?
A - In Oklahoma a physician may use the same judgement that they would use when prescribing any other medication for their patient. While there are a number of conditions that can be treated with cannabis and cannabis-derived products, those commonly treated with cannabis include:
- Anorexia and Bulimia
- Cachexia and Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic pain
- Crohn’s Disease
- Epilepsy and other seizure disorders
- HIV / AIDS
- Muscle spasms
- Neuropathic pain disorders
- Terminal illnesses
Q - What medical documentation do I need to apply?
A - In order to register for an Oklahoma Medical Marijuana card, you will need one of the following:
- State-issued ID
- U.S. Passport
- U.S.-issued Photo ID
- Oklahoma ID Card
- Tribal ID Card
Whatever ID you choose to provide, it must be within its expiration date.
Q - What about veterans? Can we get a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma or Missouri?
A - Of course! Some physicians and dispensaries may even offer discounts, but each provider is different, so it’s best if you ask first.
Q -Will insurance cover the cost of my application or medical marijuana?
A - Unfortunately, insurance cannot be used for either because marijuana is still illegal at the federal level.
Q - Will my status as a medical marijuana patient be made available to the public?
A - Absolutely not. Just like services from any other medical provider, you are protected under HIPAA laws.
Q -Can I choose my own caregiver?
A - Yes. Under qualifying circumstances, a license will be granted that provide a designated caregiver to licensed patients. The qualifying circumstances can be found on the application.
Interested in learning more about being a caregiver? Click HERE.
Q - Can I grow my own medical cannabis in Oklahoma?
A - Yes. Qualified patients in Oklahoma are allowed to grow up to six mature plants in their private residence. In Oklahoma, patients may also possess six seedlings, also known as immature plants.
Q -How much am I allowed to own and purchase?
A - Under Oklahoma law, a licensed patient can:
- Grow up to six (6) mature plants and (6) seedlings
- Carry up to three (3) ounces of marijuana on their person
- Own up to one (1) ounce of concentrates and 72 ounces of edibles
- Possess up to eight (8) ounces of cannabis in their residence
Q -Where are the dispensaries?
A - Dispensaries are located all over the state! Visit the interactive map on our homepage to find the dispensary that works best for your specific situation.
Q -How long does it take to get my card once I’ve applied?
A - Unless the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) needs additional documentation, applications are approved or denied within 30 days of receipt. You will receive a letter in the mail regarding the outcome of your application.
Q -How long does my patient license last?
A - A patient license is valid for two years from the date it was issued. The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) does have the power to revoke or not renew a license.
Q -Who will check my medical marijuana card?
A - You should always have your MMJ card and any other required identification with you when you purchase medical marijuana at a dispensary, have marijuana taken to a processor to be concentrated, or when carrying marijuana on your person. Law enforcement may also require your identification to prove that you can use legally use and possess medical marijuana.
Q -What are my right as a patients with a medical marijuana card?
A - Under Oklahoma law and the emergency medical marijuana rules, patients holding a medical marijuana card have the right to:
- Enroll in school without rejection based on cardholder status
- Rent an apartment without eviction or rejection based solely on patient status
- Work at their place of employment without discrimination for having a card or testing positive for marijuana
- Receive healthcare without disqualification simply because of medical marijuana treatment
- Have child custody or visitation denied based solely on patient status
Want to learn more about medical cannabis from a doctor's perspective?
Read our INTRODUCTORY GUIDE written by Dr. Gillian Jones.