Delaware Medical Marijuana Card
Join the thousands of people who turn to Elevate Holistics for all their medical marijuana card and cannabis information.
Take the first step towards wellness
Booking your appointment has never been easier
is 100% Secure
Delaware Medical Marijuana
Medical marijuana laws and requirements tend to differ from state to start. Therefore, if you are a resident of the state, you want to make sure you know and understand the rules and requirements before you attempt to get a medical marijuana card in Delaware.
Using medical marijuana may be a fantastic option for those who have been dealing with various health conditions, such as chronic pain. Below, we will be looking at some of the most important things you need to know when it comes to medical marijuana in Delaware.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Card
Many people have medical conditions that marijuana may be able to help with. Many states today, including Delaware, allow for the use of marijuana in a medical capacity. However, not everyone who wants to have one of these cards will necessarily be able to receive one.
Certain conditions and requirements need to be met. Let’s take a closer look at the process of getting a Delaware medical card.
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Delaware?
In Delaware, medical marijuana is entirely legal. It was first made legal in 2011 and allows patients who were at least 18 years old and who suffer from certain debilitating conditions to use cannabis.
However, you will find that you are only allowed to possess a maximum of six ounces of cannabis at any one time. Additionally, it is not legal for patients in the state to grow their own cannabis, even if they qualify for the Delaware medical marijuana card. Instead, you will need to go through a licensed Delaware marijuana dispensary.
How to Get Medical Marijuana in Delaware
First, you need to make sure you can qualify for medical weed in Delaware. One of the first things to note is the medical marijuana card age. Just as when Delaware first legalized MMJ, you have to be at least 18 years old. However, pediatric patients can use medical marijuana with parental consent.
You also need to meet the qualifying conditions, discussed below in the next section. Additionally, you will need to have certification from a health care provider. This is called a Health Card Practitioner Certification and it needs to be from a Delaware-licensed MD, DO, APRN, or PA.
Additionally, you will need to be a Delaware resident. You need to have proof of residency, such as a state ID or a driver’s license.
If you meet those qualifications, you can then move on to the steps to apply.
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Cards in Delaware
One of the most important aspects when it comes to how to become a medical marijuana patient will be the qualifying conditions. Patients are only going to receive a Delaware medical card if they have one or more of the qualifying conditions for eligibility.
The conditions on the list include:
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, also known as Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Chronic Debilitating Migraines
- Decompensated cirrhosis
- Intractable Epilepsy
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Terminal Illness
Other issues and conditions may now also be included, according to the Delaware Health and Social Services Department. This includes conditions that have failed treatment associated with autism with aggressive or self-injury behavior, cachexia, severe pain, wasting syndrome, acute and persistent muscle pains, and intractable nausea.
One of the things that makes Delaware different from many of the other states is that if there is a condition that’s not covered on the list, citizens are allowed to petition the Health and Social Services Department to consider it.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Application
The first thing you need to do for the Delaware medical marijuana application is to connect with a doctor. These doctors will work with you one-on-one to get a proper medical recommendation. You could apply via paper or online with one of these doctors. Working with Elevate Holistics will put you in connection with doctors in the state who can help.
You will then need to fill out the patient application form, or the pediatric form depending on the scenario. You can apply online or via paper, as mentioned. When applying, you will also need to include a $50 fee, which is nonrefundable. This will be payable to the state of Delaware.
Bear in mind that you will also need to submit proof of age and residency to the Office of Medical Marijuana. They are part of the Division of Public Health Medical Marijuana Program in Dover.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Card Renewal
When the state issues you your card, it will be valid for one year from the date of issue. The renewals are simple and you can complete them online. You may submit the renewal applications up to 90 days before the expiration date on the current card.
It tends to be a good idea to renew early, so you don’t forget and so any problems can be fixed. The renewal fee is the same as the fee for getting the card initially — $50.
To get a renewal, you also need to be recertified by a medical professional that can determine whether you should still be using medical marijuana. Most of the time, once you have your first certification, it shouldn’t be hard to get another.
Medical Marijuana Doctors in Delaware
It is important to keep in mind that not all doctors in Delaware will necessarily recommend that you have medical marijuana for one reason or another. Additionally, only certain types of medical professionals will qualify. This included medical doctors, advanced practice registered nurses, physician’s assistants, and doctors of osteopathy.
As long as they are licensed to practice in Delaware, they are authorized to certify that a patient should have medical marijuana. There is no medical marijuana training required by the law that would be needed before certifying patients for the program. The Medical Marijuana Program will sometimes contact the practitioner to verify the certification, though.
From the date the certification is signed, it is good for 90 days. The patient will need to submit their application for the card within those 90 days if they hope to be accepted. If they don’t, they will have to get another certification. Ideally, when you get your certification, you will apply right away, so you can get your medical card as soon as possible.
Medical Marijuana Dispensary in Delaware
You can find several dispensaries in Delaware at different locations throughout the state.
Fresh Cannabis has an online shop and the dispensary itself is located in Newark, DE. Other options include Columbia Care, which has locations in Smyrna and Rehoboth, and First State Compassion Center in Wilmington.
You can find many Delaware dispensary locations throughout the state, which should make it easy for most people to get the medical marijuana they need.
Delaware and Recreational Marijuana
Delaware and marijuana have an interesting relationship. Medical marijuana is legal, and in 2015, having up to one ounce of weed was decriminalized. However, at the state level, it is still illegal, and the citizens do not have the legal right to use recreational marijuana.
There is a chance that this could change in the future, though. In February of 2022, a Delaware House committee approved a bill to legalize marijuana in the state, which cleared it for a vote on the floor.
This latest move happened on the heels of the approval of a measure by the House Health and Human Development Committee. This movement would allow adults who are 21 or older to buy and possess up to one ounce of cannabis and up to five grams of cannabis concentrate.
It’s still unclear as to how things will pan out with the Delaware recreational marijuana laws. It may still be some time before it becomes legal statewide. Still, those who could benefit from using medical marijuana have options available to them.
Delaware Caregiver Medical Marijuana Application
In some cases, the patient might not be able to fill out the forms for their own medical card. They might be too young or have a disease or condition that prevents it from happening. In those cases, they can use a caregiver to get the marijuana for them according to the Delaware medical marijuana laws.
However, they will have to first meet certain criteria. They will need to be at least 21 years old, or they need to be the parent or legal guardian of a minor child. They cannot have been convicted of an excluded felony offense. Finally, they have to agree to assist with the patient’s medical use of marijuana. Again, they need to be a Delaware resident and provide proof of both residency and age.
It is important to note that those who want to be caregivers can assist no more than five qualifying patients.
Potential caregivers can complete the designated caregiver application online. They will need to have the patient’s 10-digit registry number to apply. They will also have to complete the patient application, pay the $50 fee. Once they receive approval, they can then help the patient they are caring for to buy medical marijuana from a Delaware dispensary.