Many people wonder how to get weed in Ohio legally. Marijuana has been legal for medical use in Ohio since 2016. Marijuana law in As marijuana laws are changing around the country, you may be wondering – is marijuana legal in Ohio, and if so, what related laws do residents have to follow? Right now, marijuana is legal for medical use, although it is still illegal for recreational use. Here are the current cannabis laws in Ohio that residents and visitors should be aware of.

Ohio Marijuana Laws

Many people wonder how to get weed in Ohio legally. Marijuana has been legal for medical use in Ohio since 2016. Marijuana law in Ohio is evolving, and there have been proposals in recent years to expand access to cannabis even further. Is weed decriminalized in Ohio? To some degree, yes – possession of less than 100 grams typically only results in a small fine.

Since marijuana is not yet legal recreationally, the only legal way to purchase marijuana in Ohio is to get a medical card. Marijuana use is legal for those who have one of Ohio’s 21 qualifying conditions. These include a variety of chronic physical and mental health conditions, such as cancer, PTSD, fibromyalgia, and many others.

In order to get a medical marijuana card, you will need to have your condition verified by a licensed physician. You’ll also need to apply directly through the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program. Once you’ve been approved for a medical marijuana card, you can purchase products at Ohio’s licensed dispensaries. Patients who are underage or patients who are physically unable to go to the dispensary can designate a caregiver to pick up medical marijuana for them. The caregiver can only carry medical marijuana to give to the patient – they cannot use it themselves.

While many people wonder how old you have to be to buy recreational weed, it is not currently available to anyone in Ohio without a medical card, regardless of age. Cannabis advocates are currently working to change this, but it is unclear right now if or when new legislation will be proposed.

Are you allowed to possess marijuana in Ohio? 

Although marijuana is still illegal for recreational use in Ohio, it has been decriminalized to a certain degree. You’ll only receive a minor misdemeanor for possession of marijuana in Ohio if you are carrying less than 100 grams. This results in a maximum fine of $150. However, if you are caught with more than 100 grams, you could face much higher fines and jail time. You might be wondering how much weed is a felony in Ohio. You could face felony charges if you are caught with 200 grams of marijuana or more.

Although recreational cannabis is legal in some neighboring states, you cannot bring it into Ohio. If you have a medical marijuana card, you generally cannot bring your cannabis into other states as well.

What are the possession limits for medical marijuana?

How much weed can you have in Ohio? Ohio marijuana possession laws allow those with a medical marijuana card to possess up to a 90 day supply of cannabis at any one time. What constitutes a 90-day supply will vary depending on what type of cannabis you are using, as some forms are more potent than others. Your doctor will provide guidance regarding the appropriate marijuana dose for your condition.

Who can sell marijuana in Ohio?

There are very strict rules about who can sell marijuana in the state of Ohio. The only place that you can legally purchase marijuana in Ohio is at a licensed medical marijuana dispensary. Right now, there are 58 medical dispensaries throughout the state of Ohio, with locations in big cities, suburbs, and small towns. These dispensaries are spread out to provide a more convenient shopping experience for patients.

There are very strict penalties for those who are caught selling marijuana outside of a licensed dispensary in Ohio. Gifts of less than 20 grams are considered misdemeanors and will result in fines, but anything above that is considered a felony and usually comes with jail time. Penalties are more severe for repeat offenses. Additionally, selling marijuana to a minor, making a sale within 100 feet of a minor, or making a sale within 1000 feet of a school will result in much more severe penalties.

Is it legal to cultivate marijuana in Ohio?

If you use medical marijuana frequently, you may be interested in growing your own plants at home. Ohio marijuana cultivation laws currently do not allow for at-home cultivation, even with a medical marijuana card. The only people who can grow marijuana in Ohio are those who have special grower’s licenses. If you are caught cultivating your own marijuana, you could face criminal charges, including fines and jail time. Charges for cultivation are typically more severe than they are for possession.

However, it is important to note that Ohio’s cannabis laws are evolving, and this could change in the future. Past proposals for recreational legislation included provisions that would allow patients to grow their own marijuana in small amounts. There are many other states that do allow residents to grow their own marijuana, so there is some precedent for this to change in the future.

Where can you use medical marijuana in Ohio?

Even if you have a medical marijuana card, you cannot consume cannabis everywhere. The only place where it is completely legal to consume medical marijuana is your own private property. If you rent your property, you will need to check and make sure your landlord allows smoking before consuming marijuana that way. Many apartment buildings do not allow smoking.

In most instances, you cannot legally consume marijuana in public in Ohio, even if you have a medical marijuana card. Even if it seems safe, it’s always best to avoid consuming marijuana on public property and wait until you are on private property to avoid fines and other legal consequences. The legal consequences for consuming medical marijuana in public are typically more severe near schools and government buildings.