Take the first step toward wellness
Hot Springs Medical Marijuana Cards
Are you looking to get a medical marijuana card in Hot Springs, AR? Medical marijuana has been helping residents of Hot Springs with pain management and anxiety relief. It’s affordable and easy to obtain when you know the state legal regulations, qualifying conditions, and which physicians you can use. At Elevate Holistics, we can answer all of your questions about obtaining an Arkansas medical marijuana card.
It’s likely you have a ton of questions, such as what is the cost of a medical marijuana card, what are the qualifying conditions, and what steps you need to take to obtain one. Here are some of the things that you’ll need to know before you start an application,
Is medical marijuana legal in Hot Springs?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Hot Springs. It became legal in Arkansas in 2016 and has been helping patients treat ailments using this alternative medicinal option ever since. In order to obtain your medical card, you’ll need to qualify.
When you have a medical marijuana card you’ll be able to purchase up to 2.5 ounces every 14 days from any dispensary in Hot Springs. You should know that you cannot smoke in public. Medical marijuana can only be used in your private residence. And you’ll need to have your card with you any time that you have any on you.
How do I get a medical card in Hot Springs?
It’s simple! You can get a medical marijuana card in Hot Springs if you are over the age of 18 with a qualifying medical condition a licensed doctor can prescribe you medical marijuana. You can complete an online application, but there are some things that you need to have to complete the application. You’ll need to get a written certification to complete your application and provide other necessary information along with your application such as your state-issued license or ID and know your SSN. There is a $50 non-refundable application fee.
The United States military and Arkansas National Guard are unable to qualify for a medical card in Arkansas.
The first thing you’ll need to do is schedule your appointment with a medical marijuana doctor to determine if your condition qualifies you for a medical marijuana card in Hot Springs. Once you are qualified the doctor will provide you with a written certification that you’ll need to upload when completing the online application.
You can choose to apply online through the Healthy Arkansas website or print out the application and mail it in. Be aware that it will take longer to be approved when you apply by mail. You’ll want to be sure that you have everything you’ll need when applying including a digital copy of a state-issued ID or proof of residency, a digital copy of your written certification, and the $50 non-refundable application fee.
It will take between 10-14 days for the department to process your application. Once approved you’ll be mailed your physical card, but you can print out a temporary card so that you can begin using it the same day you’ve been approved.
Looking for a caregiver medical marijuana card to legally purchase for your patient? You’ll need to be at least 21 years old, caring for a physically disabled individual or a minor, have no convictions of a felony offense, and be an Arkansas resident. You’ll need proof of residency that includes a state-issued ID or driver’s license, or a current utility bill.
At this time the state does not allow the Arkansas National Guard or the United States Military from getting a caregiver registry ID card.
What are the qualifying conditions?
Wondering if you have a qualifying medical condition to obtain your medical card? The state of Arkansas doesn’t have a long list of qualifying conditions. However, this doesn’t mean that you’ll be unable to qualify. Some of these medical conditions include cancer, Crohn’s disease, severe arthritis, fibromyalgia, and PTSD are just a few. It would be best to discuss your condition with a licensed medical marijuana doctor.
Medical marijuana doctors near me
Unfortunately, Arkansas is no longer allowing telehealth services, so you’ll need to schedule an in-person appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor in Hot Springs. At this time, Arkansas state does not have a list of doctors to choose from, so you’ll need to find one on your own.
At Elevate Holistics we have partnered with local medical marijuana doctors to simplify your search.
What is the cost of a medical marijuana card?
There is a non-refundable fee of $50. If you are approved, your medical marijuana card in Hot Spring will be valid for a year, and the renewal fee will be $50. However, you’ll also need to pay for the visit to the doctor. This cost will vary depending on your doctor. Unfortunately at this time, most health insurance companies will not cover this cost, so all costs for this will be out of pocket.
How long does it take to get my medical card?
The processing time is only 10-14 days. They will automatically mail a card to your home, but you can print out a temporary card once you are approved. You can do this from within the department portal. You’ll be able to use this temporary card at any Hot Springs dispensary to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana.
Hot Springs dispensaries
There are plenty of dispensaries to choose from in Hot Springs, which makes finding one a bit overwhelming. Elevate Holistics has already done the leg work for you and partnered with the best dispensaries that make your first visit a good one, so you shouldn’t have any trouble finding your favorite one. You’ll want to take your time learning about the wide selection of products to find the best products for your health condition which is why Elevate Holistics only partners with dispensaries that have knowledge, compassion, and experience.
Be sure that you have your medical card and ID on you every time you go to a dispensary.
Is medical marijuana legal in Arkansas?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Arkansas and has been since 2016. The state approved the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment (AMMA), allowing patients with qualifying medical conditions to purchase, possess, and consume Arkansas medical marijuana.
Interestingly enough, long before the state legalized MMJ, cities throughout AR passed legislation regarding marijuana crime enforcement, making it a low priority for officers.
Is marijuana legal in Arkansas for recreational use?
While Arkansas medical marijuana is legal, the state has yet to permit recreational cannabis usage. There was a push to put the Arkansas Recreational Marijuana Initiative on the ballot in 2020, but the initiative didn’t get enough signatures. Thus, the state didn’t get the option to legalize adult-use cannabis this election season.
If the measure had been on the ballot, there was a good chance that voters would have legalized recreational cannabis for adults in Arkansas.
However, residents may see this initiative on the ballot this year, 2022.
What are the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Arkansas?
In order to get medical marijuana in Arkansas, an eligible physician must diagnose you with a qualifying condition outlined by the state’s MMJ program. Below, we’ve listed the qualifying conditions for a medical card in Arkansas:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Intractable pain, pain that hasn’t responded to ordinary treatments for more than six months
- Peripheral neuropathy
- Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
- Severe arthritis
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Severe nausea
- Ulcerative colitis
- Any other medical condition or its treatment that the ADH approves
If your medical condition isn’t on this list but you feel as though you could benefit from MMJ, you can file a petition with the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) to receive access to medical cannabis.
How do I get a medical marijuana card in Arkansas?
To get your Arkansas medical card, you have to first meet with a physician that can diagnose you with a qualifying medical condition and give you a recommendation for MMJ. Once you have your medical recommendation, you’ll go to the ADH website and apply online.
You’ll have to pay a $50 application fee, be at least 18 years of age, and show proof of AR residency.
Make sure you have all the proper documentation — written certification from a physician, identification — before registering. You’ll submit all of this to the state and hear back within a few weeks whether or not you’ve been approved for Arkansas medical marijuana.
How much does a medical marijuana card cost in Arkansas?
An Arkansas medical card is going to cost you $50 for the application fee, on top of a separate fee for your doctor’s appointment. The appointment will range in cost depending on where you go and what they charge.
You will also have to pay a fee for your medical card renewal — and we can handle that here at Elevate Holistics! Our services offer a flat fee of $75 for Arkansas medical card renewals.
Where can I buy medical marijuana in Arkansas?
You can purchase medical marijuana from any Arkansas dispensary in the area. All you have to do is find a licensed dispensary that has the products you enjoy, show them your Arkansas medical card, and you’ll be all set to start buying.
Can I go to a dispensary before my card arrives?
No, in order to enter an Arkansas dispensary, you’ll need to have your state-issued medical card. Fortunately, you should get your card in the mail within 30 days of applying with the state, so you won’t have to wait too long.
How much marijuana can you have with a medical card?
According to Arkansas marijuana laws, patients and caregivers can purchase up to 2.5 ounces — or 70.87 grams — every two weeks from one Arkansas dispensary. You may find specific possession restrictions for certain “pain patients,” but this is up to the ADH’s discretion.
Can you buy at a dispensary without a medical card?
No, you cannot buy cannabis at a dispensary without a medical card. Arkansas marijuana laws outline that you must present your medical card upon purchase — and sometimes entering a state-approved dispensary. Thus, you will not be able to make a purchase without your Arkansas medical card.
How much will medical marijuana cost in Arkansas?
Right now, the average medical marijuana cost in Arkansas is significantly higher than in the rest of the country. This does depend on where you purchase your cannabis from, but some places report selling grams — on average — for $20. Most other places in the US offer cannabis for about $10 a gram.
So, you may find yourself spending a bit more money than you thought when buying Arkansas medical marijuana.
Can I grow medical marijuana plants in Arkansas?
No. Neither patients nor caregivers are permitted to cultivate cannabis in Arkansas. You can only purchase and consume cannabis products, not grow them. Any person caught cultivating cannabis will get charged with either simple a possession or a possession with an intent to deliver charge, depending on how much cannabis they grew. Just don’t do it.
How can I get a caregiver license in Arkansas?
The medical marijuana caregivers laws for Arkansas are quite simple. You have to be at least 21 years old or be a parent to a minor patient and be an AR resident with proof of residency. If you’re a previous felon, member of the Arkansas National Guard, or United States Military, the medical marijuana caregiver laws for Arkansas prohibit you from becoming a caregiver.
If you qualify, you will complete the caregiver application through the ADH website. Just like patients, you’ll have to pay a $50 registry fee; you will also have to pay a small fee for a background check to ensure you’re clear. You will attach this completed background check to your application and wait for approval!
Does Arkansas accept out-of-state MMJ cards?
Yes, Arkansas does accept out-of-state MMJ cards. Patients with legitimate out-of-state recommendations can access medical cannabis in AR; however, they must fill out an Arkansas visiting patient form and provide proof of recommendation.
Is medical marijuana covered by insurance?
Because of the tricky federal laws surrounding medical cannabis, MMJ is not covered by insurance. However, you may be able to talk to your insurance provider about them covering your MMJ doctors’ appointments and related charges.
Are edibles legal in Arkansas?
Yes, edibles in Arkansas are 100% legal! Patients are allowed to incorporate cannabis products into their foods and beverages at home, as well.
231 Central Ave Suite B, Hot Springs, AR 71901