Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card (Renewals Only)
Join the thousands of people who turn to Elevate Holistics for their medical marijuana card recommendations. And if you’re not approved, you get your money back — guaranteed.
Take the first step towards wellness
Booking your appointment has never been easier
is 100% Secure
Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas
At this time, we are only offering renewals via telehealth. Please check back for more updates in the future.
Is marijuana legal in Arkansas? Yes, medical marijuana is legal, and it can be a very effective treatment option for people who struggle with chronic physical or mental health conditions. If you have never had an Arkansas MMJ card before, the application process may seem daunting at first.
However, the process is actually much easier than you might think, as you can now apply for your Arkansas medical marijuana card online. Here’s what you need to know about medical marijuana in Arkansas.
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Arkansas?
Many people wonder – is weed legal in Arkansas? While marijuana is still illegal for recreational use, the Arkansas medical cannabis act legalized marijuana for medical use in 2016. However, the first dispensaries did not open until 2019. Patients who have a medical card can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis every two weeks.
However, those who don’t have a medical card can face serious consequences if they are caught with marijuana. This could include a hefty fine, jail time, and a six-month driver’s license suspension, depending on how much marijuana you are carrying.
It’s also important to note that members of the US Military or Arkansas National Guard are not allowed to get a medical marijuana card. If you’re a gun owner and concerned about getting a medical card, you can read our blog post for more information.
How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas
The first step to getting your Arkansas medical cannabis card is to see a medical marijuana doctor. Not every doctor in Arkansas is qualified or willing to provide medical marijuana approvals, so you will need to find one that specializes in this.
During the appointment, your doctor will confirm that you have one of the qualifying medical conditions and answer any questions you may have. They will then complete a written certification form, which you will submit later on in the application process.
Elevate Holistics makes it easy to get your medical card online. We offer secure online appointments with certified Arkansas medical marijuana doctors. With our online appointments, you can get your medical marijuana certification from the comfort of your own home. Our services are affordable and HIPAA-compliant.
Our doctors are also very familiar with medical cannabis products, so they can make recommendations and answer any questions you may have.
Once you have your written certification from your doctor, you can complete the rest of the Arkansas medical marijuana application. You can apply online through the Arkansas state medical board or mail in your application. Online applications are recommended, as they are processed much faster than mailed applications.
In addition to your written doctor’s certification, you will also need to provide proof of Arkansas residency and pay a $50 application fee.
Once your application has been submitted, the board will review it within 10 to 14 days. After your application has been processed and approved, you will be able to print out your medical marijuana card at home. Arkansas does not issue temporary medical marijuana cards. When you have your card, you will be able to visit an Arkansas dispensary and purchase the products you need.
Arkansas Qualifying Conditions
In order to get your MMJ card, you will need to have one of the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act qualifying conditions. There are currently 18 medical conditions that qualify for medical cannabis in Arkansas. These conditions are:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Severe arthritis
- Chron’s disease
- Ulcerative colitis
- Peripheral neuropathy
- Intractable pain
- Severe nausea
- Muscle spasms
If you are unsure of whether or not you qualify for medical marijuana in Arkansas, it may be worth seeing a doctor and getting their recommendation. There is some flexibility in terms of using marijuana as a treatment for chronic pain and nausea.
Steps To Get A Medical Card in Arkansas
The steps to getting a medical marijuana card in Arkansas are fairly simple. The first step is to make an appointment with an Arkansas marijuana doctor. Once your doctor approves you, they will need to fill out the written certification form, which you will then submit along with your application.
The easiest way to apply is through the Arkansas Department of Health’s online portal. You can upload a scan of your doctor’s written certification, and you’ll also need to provide proof of ID and Arkansas residence.
Finally, you’ll need to pay the $50 application fee, and then your application will be sent to the board for review. You can also opt to print out the application and mail it in, but this makes the process take much longer.
How Long Does It Take To Get A Medical Card in Arkansas?
The process of getting a medical marijuana card in Arkansas typically takes less than a month. You may have to wait a few days for your appointment, depending on your doctor’s availability. Booking an appointment online through Elevate Holistics can help to speed up this process. Once your application has been submitted, the board will review it within 10 to 14 days. After that, you will need to wait a few days for your card to be mailed to you.
What Is The Cost Of A Medical Marijuana Card In Arkansas?
To get your medical marijuana card in Arkansas, you will need to pay a $50 registration fee. You will need to pay the $50 fee again when you renew your card each year.
Additionally, you will need to pay the cost of your appointment with a medical marijuana doctor. It’s important to note that medical insurance doesn’t cover the cost of these appointments because marijuana remains illegal on the federal level.
These fees can vary depending on which doctor you go to, but Elevate Holistics offers affordable telehealth services starting at $75 per session.
Can I Renew My Medical Card Online?
You will need to renew your medical marijuana certification every year in Arkansas. To renew your card, you will need to get an updated physician’s certification, re-submit the application, and pay the $50 fee again. Luckily, an Arkansas medical marijuana card renewal is very easy to do online.
You can submit your application online through the Arkansas state government. Elevate Holistics also makes it very easy to meet with a doctor online and get your certification renewed.
Now that medical marijuana is available in Arkansas, it is a viable treatment option for many chronic health conditions. Elevate Holistics offers secure and HIPAA-compliant online appointments to make the application process as stress-free as possible. Our doctors are knowledgeable and compassionate, and are here to answer any questions you may have about medical marijuana.
Contact us today to learn more about how we can help.
For Arkansas MMJ frequently asked questions, click here!
Are you a resident of Conway, AR, or the surrounding areas? Click here to learn specific instructions regarding getting your AR MMJ card renewed.
Learn more about medical marijuana laws across the country by clicking here.
Is medical marijuana covered by insurance?
Because of the tricky federal laws surrounding medical cannabis, MMJ is not covered by insurance. However, you may be able to talk to your insurance provider about them covering your MMJ doctors’ appointments and related charges.
Does Arkansas accept out-of-state MMJ cards?
Yes, Arkansas does accept out-of-state MMJ cards. Patients with legitimate out-of-state recommendations can access medical cannabis in AR; however, they must fill out an Arkansas visiting patient form and provide proof of recommendation.
Buying and Using Marijuana in Arkansas
Where can I buy medical marijuana in Arkansas?
You can purchase medical marijuana from any Arkansas dispensary in the area. All you have to do is find a licensed dispensary that has the products you enjoy, show them your Arkansas medical card, and you’ll be all set to start buying.
Arkansas Dispensary Rules
Since medical marijuana was legalized in Arkansas, dispensaries have opened up throughout the state. When you visit the dispensary, you’ll be able to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis at a time. The staff will be able to help you find the products you need if you are new to buying Arkansas cannabis.
You will need to show your medical marijuana card as well as your ID in order to make a purchase. When visiting the dispensary, you will want to bring cash with you. Because marijuana is not yet legal on a federal level, many banks cannot process medical marijuana card transactions. If you forget to pick up cash before you visit, don’t worry – most dispensaries have an ATM on site.
Can I go to a dispensary before my card arrives?
No, in order to enter an Arkansas dispensary, you’ll need to have your state-issued medical card. Fortunately, you should get your card in the mail within 30 days of applying with the state, so you won’t have to wait too long.
How much marijuana can you have with a medical card?
According to Arkansas marijuana laws, patients and caregivers can purchase up to 2.5 ounces — or 70.87 grams — every two weeks from one Arkansas dispensary. You may find specific possession restrictions for certain “pain patients,” but this is up to the ADH’s discretion.
How much will medical marijuana cost in Arkansas?
Right now, the average medical marijuana cost in Arkansas is significantly higher than in the rest of the country. This does depend on where you purchase your cannabis from, but some places report selling grams — on average — for $20. Most other places in the US offer cannabis for about $10 a gram.
So, you may find yourself spending a bit more money than you thought when buying Arkansas medical marijuana.
Can I grow medical marijuana plants in Arkansas?
No. Neither patients nor caregivers are permitted to cultivate cannabis in Arkansas. You can only purchase and consume cannabis products, not grow them. Any person caught cultivating cannabis will get charged with either simple a possession or a possession with an intent to deliver charge, depending on how much cannabis they grew. Just don’t do it.
Caregivers in Arkansas?
Can I Have A Caregiver in Arkansas?
Minors who are under the age of 18 can get a medical marijuana card with their parents’ permission. However, minors will need to have a parent or guardian apply as a caregiver, because they legally cannot visit the dispensary on their own. Additionally, some patients with serious chronic health conditions many not physically be able to visit the dispensary. Arkansas allows these patients to designate a caregiver as well.
To be a caregiver, you must be over the age of 21 and a resident of the state of Arkansas. You also cannot have been convicted of a felony, and you cannot be a member of the US Military or Arkansas National Guard. To register as a caregiver, you will need to submit a caregiver application when the patient submits theirs. You’ll also need to pay the $50 registration fee.
Once the application has been processed, you’ll receive a caregiver card in the mail that you can use to purchase marijuana for your patient at dispensaries.
How can I get a caregiver license in Arkansas?
The medical marijuana caregivers laws for Arkansas are quite simple. You have to be at least 21 years old or be a parent to a minor patient and be an AR resident with proof of residency. If you’re a previous felon, member of the Arkansas National Guard, or United States Military, the medical marijuana caregiver laws for Arkansas prohibit you from becoming a caregiver.
If you qualify, you will complete the caregiver application through the ADH website. Just like patients, you’ll have to pay a $50 registry fee; you will also have to pay a small fee for a background check to ensure you’re clear. You will attach this completed background check to your application and wait for approval!
Does Arkansas Have Reciprocity?
Arkansas medical marijuana laws do allow for reciprocity. This means that out-of-state residents can access medical marijuana if they have one of the state’s qualifying conditions. In order for out-of-state residents to purchase medical marijuana, they will need to complete a visitor’s registration form and pay a non-refundable $50 fee. This will allow visitors to purchase medical marijuana for up to 30 days.
Is marijuana legal in Arkansas for recreational use?
While Arkansas medical marijuana is legal, the state has yet to permit recreational cannabis usage. There was a push to put the Arkansas Recreational Marijuana Initiative on the ballot in 2020, but the initiative didn’t get enough signatures. Thus, the state didn’t get the option to legalize adult-use cannabis this election season.
If the measure had been on the ballot, there was a good chance that voters would have legalized recreational cannabis for adults in Arkansas.
However, residents may see this initiative on the ballot this year, 2022.
Are edibles legal in Arkansas?
Yes, edibles in Arkansas are 100% legal! Patients are allowed to incorporate cannabis