Nevada Medical Marijuana Card
Join the thousands of people who turn to Elevate Holistics for all their medical marijuana card and cannabis information.
Take the first step towards wellness
Booking your appointment has never been easier
is 100% Secure
The laws surrounding medical marijuana are different in every state. Patients and those who think they qualify to become patients of the medical marijuana program in their state need to take the time to learn what all that entails.
The legal jargon can get confusing, of course, so we’ve taken the time to break it down for you. In the guide below, we’ll cover everything you need to know about medical marijuana card in Nevada, including the laws, how to qualify, and even what laws are in place regarding reciprocity and out-of-state patients.
Nevada Medical Marijuana
Nevada was one of the first to toy with the idea of legalizing marijuana for any use. After all, it’s home to Sin City and plenty of other indulgences, so why shouldn’t people be allowed to enjoy all their favorite “vices,” as it were?
In 2017, legalization was passed that allowed the sale of cannabis on a native reservation, and since then, the law has only expanded to include the entire state and various rules for both medical and recreational consumers. To determine what type of consumer you want to be in the state, it’s helpful to know the laws and guidelines surrounding each type of licensing.
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Nevada?
Medical marijuana laws were passed in Nevada back in 2017 and things have only gotten better since then. Patient limits are tracked by dispensaries, but patients may choose to purchase in any quantity that they like up to 2.5 ounces within 14 days. The full details of the law can be found in the section below.
The major advantage, of course, to having a medical card in Nevada is that you can get lower prices on products, usually due to lower taxes imposed on medical cannabis as opposed to recreational weed. Aside from the cost differences, there are legal differences to consider, as well.
Is Recreational Marijuana Legal in Nevada?
Yes, recreational marijuana is legal in the state of Nevada. However, in addition to the standard 4.6% sales tax imposed on medical marijuana, recreational buyers must also pay a 10% excise tax, which means even if the products are the same price, the recreational market will be more expensive due to the taxation.
According to state law, recreational marijuana use and possession are only legal under certain circumstances. Adults that are over the age of 21 will be allowed to possess up to an ounce of marijuana flower for personal use, or up to an eighth (1/8) of an ounce of concentrate, such as resin or hash.
Recreational use is also limited to private residences and the new addition of some social use venues throughout the state. It is still illegal to possess or consume marijuana in most public places and on state or federal property.
Under recreational law, anyone who lives more than 25 miles from a dispensary is eligible to grow as many as six plants. The caveat, of course, is that no house should have more than 12 and they must be located in a greenhouse, closet, or other enclosed space that has a lock or other security measures in place.
Plants can’t be somewhere that the public can see them and if you’re growing on someone else’s property, you need their permission first.
Nevada Medical Marijuana Laws
Nevada has some of the most lenient restrictions on growing and possessing marijuana of all the medical programs throughout the country. The medical program has different limits than the recreational program, of course.
You cannot cultivate plants at home, but patients may be able to possess a 30-day supply of non-inhaled cannabis products. As of March 1, 2022, patients can also purchase up to 2.5 ounces of the medical cannabis flower (plant) per 14-day period.
All medical purchases must be made at state-licensed dispensaries and be performed by registered patients or their caregivers. As mentioned, patients can buy a total of 2.5 ounces, but they don’t have to buy it all at once.
This can be either in the form of flower, edibles, concentrates, or topicals. And to be approved, you will need to have one of the qualifying conditions that are covered by Nevada state law. Let’s take a look at those.
Nevada Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions
As with any state that has medical marijuana, Nevada has a list of certain qualifying conditions that are eligible for medical marijuana licensing. While anyone can purchase recreational marijuana within the state, only patients with the following conditions can obtain a medical marijuana card and enjoy the lower tax rates associated with their needs:
- Anorexia Nervosa
- Autism spectrum disorder
- Autoimmune diseases
- Opioid dependence
- Cachexia (wasting)
- Severe or chronic nausea or pain
- Persistent seizures or muscle spasms
- Any condition debilitating enough to severely impact the quality of life of the patient
This list of qualifying conditions is subject to change in the future as the laws in the state allow for more diseases and conditions to be added to the list. In addition to having a qualifying condition, people must also prove that they’re a resident of the state before a medical marijuana card will be approved.
How Do I Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada?
To obtain a medical marijuana card in the state of Nevada, you will need to find and schedule an appointment with a certified provider that can verify your qualifying condition.
There are a select number of providers in the state that are certified to make MMJ recommendations and it will be up to them to diagnose the condition and refer patients for medical marijuana.
Once you have received a referral from a doctor for your medical marijuana recommendation, you can file an application with the state of Nevada. This will allow the state to process your application and mail you a card once your application is approved.
Each certification is good for a year and patients will need to re-apply each year and get re-certified before continuing with their medical marijuana certification. With the application, there is a fee for the card registration.
Cost of Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada
The cost of a Nevada medical marijuana card is $50 for a one-time registration that is good for a single year. Nevada’s State Health Division is in charge of this program and responsible for collecting all payments.
For the convenience of patients who don’t want to renew each year, there is the option for a two-year registration for certain qualifying conditions.
The two-year registration, however, does not come at a discount. It’s just a one-time $100 payment and keeps you from having to re-register after 12 months. Some people find it easier to manage when they’re dealing with chronic or lifelong conditions.
Nevada Marijuana Reciprocity
Nevada is one state that offers reciprocity with many other states and territories that have created their own medical marijuana programs. In the state, patients seeking medical marijuana must have a card from Nevada or a qualifying medical card from the states listed below:
- District of Columbia
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New York
- New Mexico
- Rhode Island
- Ely Shoshone Tribe
- Pyramid Lake Paiute Tribe
- Yerington Paiute Tribe
- Winnemucca Indian Colony
If a cardholder is from any of these areas and presents a card in Nevada, they are eligible to buy marijuana from medical dispensaries in the state, even without a dedicated Nevada card. Recreational marijuana is open to anyone age 21 or over but must be used while in the state and it cannot be transported.
Nevada Medical Marijuana Caregiver
Under Nevada’s medical marijuana laws, registered or qualifying patients can also have caregivers assigned to their registry. A caregiver needs to also be a resident of Nevada and they must be 21 years of age. If the medical marijuana is for a minor patient, the caregiver must be a parent or legal guardian.
They are also subject to special exceptions from recreational limits, allowing caregivers to have the 2.5 ounces as opposed to the recreational single-ounce allowance. They might also be able to get an exemption from the 25-mile law for cultivation purposes.
For more information on designating a caregiver, applicants can talk to the State Health Division at the time of application or discuss caregiver requirements with their medical provider.
Several Nevada dispensaries offer medical marijuana and recreational marijuana throughout the state. There are dispensaries in Carson City, Ely, Fallon, Fernley, Henderson, Incline Village, Jackpot, Laughlin, Mesquite, Mound House, North Las Vegas, Pahrump, Reno, Sparks, Sun Valley, Washoe Valley, West Wendover, and Winnemucca.
There are also more than three dozen dispensaries throughout Las Vegas itself and the unincorporated areas of Clark County.
When choosing a dispensary, it is important to pay attention to whether they sell recreational marijuana or medical marijuana in Nevada. This is distinguished by dispensaries listing themselves as having “Adult Use”, medical marijuana, or if they offer both. If you are a medical patient and want medical tax breaks, you should only shop at medical dispensaries.
Anyone over the age of 21 with a valid ID can shop at recreational dispensaries in Nevada.