Join the thousands of people who turn to Elevate Holistics for all their medical marijuana card and cannabis information.
Take the first step towards wellness
Booking your appointment has never been easier
is 100% Secure
Medical marijuana can be a very effective treatment for a wide variety of physical and mental health conditions. Medical marijuana is now legal in Utah, but many prospective patients don’t know how to get a medical card in Utah. The process is simpler than you might think – here’s everything you need to know about the Utah medical cannabis program and how to sign up.
What You Need To Know About Getting A Utah Medical Card
Getting your medical card in Utah is simpler than you might think. Those with qualifying conditions can use their medical card to purchase the cannabis products they need at a Utah medical dispensary. Here’s how you can get your Utah medical card, find a dispensary, and get the treatment you need.
Is weed legal in Utah?
Utah weed laws in 2021 are much different than they were just a decade ago. For many years, it seemed like Utah was not interested in legalizing marijuana, even for medical use. In fact, they were the first state to actively make cannabis illegal in the early 20th century. However, in 2018, the Utah government opted to legalize medical marijuana.
However, it’s important to note that Utah cannabis is still illegal for recreational use. Unlike many other states, Utah has not decriminalized marijuana, which means you can still face harsh penalties if you are caught possessing marijuana without a Utah medical marijuana card.
How do I get a medical card in Utah?
In order to get a medical card in Utah, you must visit a licensed medical marijuana doctor. During this visit to the medical marijuana clinic, your doctor will confirm that you have one of the qualifying conditions to prescribe medical marijuana and start the process of applying for your medical marijuana card through the Utah Department of Health.
Unlike in other states, your first visit with a medical marijuana doctor in Utah must be done in person. Elevate Holistics can help you find a reputable medical marijuana doctor near you, so you can get the products and services you need.
Our Utah medical license verification ensures that we connect you with the best possible doctors for your cannabis needs. After your initial in-person appointment, you can conduct your renewal appointment online.
In order to get a medical marijuana card in the state of Utah, you need to be a resident. You’ll need to prove this with a Utah driver’s license or government-issued ID. Your provider will help you complete the registration online, and you will need to pay a state fee of $15 to get your card. The state will then review and approve your application within two weeks.
Utah has a relatively short card renewal period when compared to other states. After you receive your card for the first time, you will need to renew it within 90 days. After this, you can opt for cards that last for six months or a full year, depending on your personal needs and your doctor’s recommendations.
You will have to pay a fee of anywhere between $5 and $15 for each renewal. Recent legislation should extend that initial card period from 90 days to 6 months, which will take effect in 2021.
Where do I find a medical marijuana clinic in Utah?
Not all doctors in Utah are licensed or willing to prescribe medical marijuana. As a result, you’ll need to confirm that the clinic you are visiting can actually help you get your medical card. There are many clinics throughout the state that offer medical marijuana approval appointments.
However, if you live in a rural area, you may need to drive to a larger city like Salt Lake for your appointment.
If you are struggling to find a Utah marijuana doctor, Elevate Holistics can help. We can connect you with licensed and knowledgeable doctors to help you get the cannabis you need.
Not only can they help you find the best cannabis products for your needs, but they can also help answer any questions you may have, provide dosage recommendations, and more.
What are the qualifying conditions for a medical card in Utah?
According to Utah marijuana laws in 2021, you’ll need to have one of a number of qualifying conditions approved by the state. This list includes a variety of chronic physical and mental health conditions that marijuana can treat.
Some of these conditions include:
There are some broader symptoms and conditions that can qualify for medical marijuana in Utah. This includes any terminal illness with a life expectancy of less than six months, and any pain lasting longer than two weeks that cannot be managed with other treatments.
Additionally, ongoing and persistent nausea, any condition requiring hospice care, and any rare condition affecting less than 200,000 people in the United States without viable treatment options are also eligible.
Also, doctors have the option to petition the Compassionate Use Board in order to get a medical marijuana card.
How much does a Utah medical marijuana card cost?
When you register to get your medical marijuana card in Utah, you will need to pay a fee of $15 directly to the Department of Health. You’ll also need to pay fees when you renew your card, which may vary depending on the length of your renewal.
On top of that, you will need to pay the fees for your appointment with a medical marijuana doctor. It’s very important to note that health insurance generally does not cover the cost of any appointments associated with marijuana, as it is still illegal on a federal level.
Costs for these appointments are often as high as $200, but there are some clinics that have more affordable options. Check in with your doctor before the appointment to get an idea of what types of fees are involved.
What You Need To Know About EVS Utah
To get medical marijuana in Utah, you will need to apply through the EVS, or electronic verification system. You will do this during or directly after your appointment with a medical provider, and they will generally help you through the process.
You’ll need to have a Utah ID account in order to do this. Your provider will help you start the application process and then verify your Utah medical license for you directly through the system. Once you’ve paid the fee, you’ll be able to track your application through the EVS system and see when it’s been approved and when your medical card is coming.
History of Medical Marijuana in Utah
‘Is marijuana legal in Utah?’ is a very common question. The state has historically had very strict medical marijuana laws, and many residents still don’t realize that they qualify for Utah legal weed. In 2014, the state passed a law that allowed for the possession of CBD oil with low quantities of THC in it.
However, there wasn’t any legal way for residents to acquire this product.
A more comprehensive medical marijuana bill was initially proposed in 2015. There were multiple attempts to pass this in 2016 and all the way up until the end of 2018, when the current medical marijuana bill was passed.
However, it is only in 2021 that all of the dispensaries originally licensed by this bill finally opened. Each new medical dispensary in Utah increased access to cannabis for those who need it, especially in rural areas.
Reciprocity Laws in Utah
Many people wonder if they can use a medical marijuana card from another state to purchase marijuana in Utah. Unfortunately, Utah does not currently have any reciprocity laws. This means that you must be a Utah resident with a valid Utah medical marijuana card in order to purchase cannabis here.
Patients who have just moved to Utah and have a medical marijuana card from another state may continue to possess and use cannabis as long as they meet Utah’s requirements for a medical marijuana card. After 45 days, this is no longer valid and the new resident will have to apply for a Utah medical marijuana card.
Becoming A Caregiver In Utah
There is no age limit on who can use medical marijuana in Utah, as long as you meet the qualifying conditions. However, patients under the age of 21 must be specifically approved by the Compassionate Use Board, and patients under the age of 18 will require a caregiver.
Adult patients who are not able to visit a cannabis dispensary in Utah on their own can also designate a caregiver to do so for them.
In this case, the patient will still need to see a medical marijuana doctor in person. However, during the application process, the patient and their doctor will need to add the caregiver’s information to their application.
Caregivers will need to pay a fee for their card on top of the fee that the patient pays for their card. Caregivers will then go through a background check and receive a caregiver card if they have been approved, which they can use to purchase medical marijuana products for their patients.
Interested in learning more about medical marijuana in Utah? Elevate Holistics is here to help you find the care you need – schedule an appoint for a medical marijuana card today!
In Utah, what’s the difference between a recommendation letter and a medical cannabis card?
Prior to December 31st, 2020, residents in Utah could receive a recommendation letter from an approved physician that allowed the purchase of medical cannabis from just one pharmacy in the state. Medical cannabis cards, however, allow for the purchase of medical cannabis from any dispensary in Utah.
In 2021, a recommendation letter will no longer be valid for cannabis purchases.
How do I obtain a medical card in Utah?
To obtain a medical card in Utah, you first must go to a qualified medical provider (QMP) to get evaluated. If you have a qualifying medical condition and are approved, you then must go to medicalcannabis.utah.gov to apply for the actual card. Typically, this process takes about two weeks from the date of application.
Those who are not Utah residents, do not meet with a certified medical provider/qualify, or do not pay the required fee cannot receive their medical cannabis card.
What are the qualifying medical conditions needed to get a medical card? What if my condition doesn’t qualify?
Utah has various qualifying medical conditions. The extensive list is as follows:
- HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment, except for nausea related to:
- cannabis-induced cyclic vomiting syndrome
- cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome
- Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
- Epilepsy or debilitating seizures
- Multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist and that:
- has been diagnosed by a healthcare provider by the Veterans Administration and documented in the patient’s record; or
- has been diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation from a psychiatrist, doctorate psychologist, a doctorate licensed clinical social worker, or a psychiatric APRN
- A terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months
- A condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
- A rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions
- Pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions
If your medical condition is not on this list, you may choose to petition the Compassionate Use Board, arguing your case. Then, the Board will review the petition and approve/deny it on a case-by-case basis.
What forms of cannabis are allowed for possession in Utah?
In Utah, the law prohibits the smoking of dried cannabis flower, as well as edible marijuana products. Medical marijuana patients are legally allowed to possess the following forms:
- Concentrated oil
- Liquid suspension
- Transdermal preparation
- Gelatinous cube
- Unprocessed cannabis flower in a tamper-evident and resistant container that is opaque that contains a quantity that varies no more than 10% from the stated weight at the time of packaging
- Wax or resin
- Medical cannabis device such as a vaping pen that warms cannabis material into a vapor without the use of a flame and that delivers cannabis to an individual’s respiratory system
How much cannabis can patients possess/purchase at once?
Medical patients can possess up to 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis flower and up to 20 grams of total THC in all other medicinal forms within a 30-day period.
How long are medical cannabis cards good for, and how much do they cost?
For first-time patients, your medical cannabis card is good for 90 days after being issued. Within those three months, you must renew your card or it will no longer be valid. Once renewed the first time, subsequent renewals happen every six months to one year depending on what your QMP determines.
The fees for your medical card are as follows:
- Patient Card (initial): $15
- Patient Card (first 30-day renewal): $5
- Patient Card (six-month renewal): $15
- Guardian Card (initial): $66.25
- Guardian Card (first 30-day renewal): $5
- Guardian Card (six-month renewal): $24
- Caregiver Card (initial): $66.25
- Caregiver Card (six-month renewal): $14
Where can I purchase medical cannabis in Utah?
Where can I find approved medical providers to recommend medicinal cannabis?
You can find a list of approved medical providers on the Utah Department of Health’s website. These QMPs have been certified as qualified by UDOH, and the list will continually be updated.
Does Utah offer renter or employee protection for qualified patients?
Technically, medical users are not a protected class, so there are no protections set in place for renters or employees.
These rules are slightly modified for state and local government professionals, as cannabis is treated similarly to opiates/opioids: impairment or affected job performance can result in termination.
If I don’t have a medical card, can I purchase low-THC CBD oils and similar products?
Yes! As per federal and state law, CBD products derived from hemp are legal for possession and consumption as long as the product contains less than 0.3% THC.
Where can I check for medical cannabis updates in Utah?
To stay updated on the rules and regulations regarding medical cannabis in Utah, you can check the Utah Medical Program’s website.
Can you use an out-of-state medical card to buy cannabis in Utah?
You can purchase medical cannabis with an out-of-state medical card only if you got your card for one of the qualifying medical conditions that Utah has listed in their program. You also must still abide by Utah’s dosage and consumption method regulations.
If you are a new Utah resident, you may use your out-of-state medical card for the first 45 days. After that amount of time, the card is no longer and valid and you must apply for a Utah medical cannabis card.