Are you thinking about growing weed in your Missouri residence? Is it legal? Are you wondering about the Missouri marijuana laws that guide growing marijuana legally?

In a nutshell, growing medical cannabis in Missouri is legal. However, this is only true for adults aged 18 years and above who have qualifying medical conditions. You’ll also have to have a Missouri medical cultivation license. A caregiver (or parents/guardian taking care of patients not up to 18) of a medical marijuana patient may apply to grow marijuana on the patient’s behalf. Otherwise, it is illegal for adults who do not meet the criteria to grow marijuana at their residence.

If you are keen on growing cannabis at home, you must first ascertain that you are qualified to grow cannabis. Secondly, you must be aware of the relevant laws that you have to comply with as a home grower, so you don’t cross the line and be on the wrong side of the law.

Let’s look at Missouri marijuana laws, how to apply to grow medical marijuana, and how to grow cannabis at home.

Missouri marijuana laws; cultivating weed

Missouri Marijuana Laws

In 2018, Missouri Amendment 2 — the Medical Marijuana and Veteran Healthcare Services Initiative — made it to the ballot in Missouri. Missouri Amendment 2 was a petition to legalize marijuana for medical purposes in the state while also initiating a 4% taxation on marijuana sales to be put into veteran healthcare services. Following voters’ approval of Amendment 2, the Missouri Secretary of State added Article XIV to the Missouri Constitution.

Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution provides legal guidance and obligations guiding patients and business entities on the state’s cultivation, transportation, distribution, possession, and use of medical marijuana. The following excerpts are relevant for patients wondering how to grow marijuana legally. However, be sure to take your time to read through Article XIV.

Here's What to Know:

  • A qualifying patient aged 18 years or above or their primary caregiver may obtain a Missouri patient cultivation card to cultivate flowering marijuana plants.
  • The identification card is exclusive to the qualifying patient or primary caregiver. You cannot transfer ownership or use.
  • The Missouri cultivation license for medical marijuana is only valid for 12 months, and you must renew it annually. However, things get a little technical. A qualifying patient can only use their cultivation license for as long as their Missouri medical marijuana card is valid. Hence, if you get your Missouri cultivation today and your Missouri medical marijuana card expires in two months, your cultivation license will expire in two months.
  • You can get your license for an annual fee of $100. The cost might increase or decrease over time, depending on some given conditions determined by the state.
  • The identification card authorizes the patient or caregiver to grow marijuana. It also states the address that the patient or caregiver can cultivate and must always be displayed on the cultivation facility at the said address.

LEARN MORE: Missouri Medical Marijuana FAQs

How Do I Get My Missouri Cultivation License?

Bearing in mind that your cultivation license expires at the same time as your qualifying patient or caregiver medical marijuana card, it’s best to apply for or renew your cultivation license around the same time as your MMJ card. In doing so, you get to maximize the usage of your Missouri cultivation license and medical card.

You can apply for and get your medical marijuana cultivation license on the Missouri Medical Marijuana Program Portal after a state-authorized physician has seen them and submitted a Physician Certification Form. The portal requires information on:

  • The description of the type of facility you intend to use.
  • The address of the facility.
  • The type of security gadgets or locks you intend to use to secure the facility from third parties.
  • How you set up the facility and the strategies used in securing it.

According to state law, you must note that you can only grow marijuana in an enclosed, locked facility that makes the plants invisible to an unaided eye. If you provide the needed information accurately and qualify by the state’s standards, you will be sure to get your license duly.

However, if you find it challenging to apply for your license or set up your facility, feel free to contact Elevate Holistics and consult with our experts.

How Many Marijuana Plants Can I Grow in Missouri?

How many plants can you grow with a medical card? The Medical Marijuana Regulation’s Patient Information handbook provides comprehensive detail on all you need to know about growing medical marijuana in MO. 

According to the state law:

  • One qualifying patient may cultivate up to six flowering marijuana plants, six non-flowering marijuana plants (over 14 inches tall), and six clones (plants under 14 inches tall) at any given time in a single, enclosed, locked facility.
  • Two qualifying patients, who hold valid qualifying patient cultivation ID cards, may share one enclosed, locked facility. No more than 12 flowering marijuana plants, 12 nonflowering plants, and 12 clones may be cultivated. That is unless one of the qualifying patients, as a primary caregiver, also holds a patient cultivation ID card for another patient.

Thus, the primary caregiver may cultivate six additional flowering marijuana plants, six additional non-flowering marijuana plants, and six additional clones. This comes to a total of 18 flowering marijuana plants, 18 non-flowering marijuana plants, and 18 clones in a single, enclosed, locked facility.

Additionally, the qualifying patient or primary caregiver must label all flowering marijuana plants in their possession with the qualifying patient’s name.

Where Can You Grow Marijuana Plants in Missouri?

Missouri marijuana laws

Most patients often wonder where and how to grow weed in Missouri. Remember that marijuana is still an illegal substance under federal law. Therefore, it is illegal to grow, use, or possess marijuana on any federal property. That aside, you can grow marijuana for medical purposes anywhere in Missouri as long as it is your residence and you indicated the address when applying for your cultivation license.

For rental properties, things can be a bit tricky. The property owner and the rules they may have set will determine if you can or cannot grow marijuana on site. To be on the safer side, you should discuss with the property owner or manager before moving into the property. If they do not allow for cultivation, then you can decide whether you still want to rent.

While property owners cannot discriminate against a patient based on their conditions, they may take actions against certain activities. Do not try to grow weed and hide it from the property manager or owner. This can be grounds for a lawsuit. Discuss with them and agree on terms.

As things stand, the state has not defined what may apply when growing marijuana on a rental property. So, if you are growing marijuana on your property, feel free to make your own rules. However, do note that some state rules apply when growing weed indoor or outdoor.

Where and How to Grow Marijuana Indoors in Missouri

According to Article XIV:

A stationary closet, room, garage, greenhouse, or other comparable fully enclosed space equipped with locks or other functioning security devices that permit access to only the qualifying patient(s) or primary caregiver(s) who have informed the department that this is the space where they will cultivate marijuana.

Where and How to Grow Marijuana Outdoors in Missouri

According to Article XIV:

A stationary structure that is enclosed on all sides, except at the base, by chain-link fencing, wooden slats, or similar material that is anchored, attached, or affixed to the ground and that cannot be accessed from the top. Also, in which the plants are not visible to the unaided eye from an adjacent property when viewed by an individual at ground level or from a permanent structure at any level. And that is equipped with locks or other security devices that restrict access to only the qualifying patient(s) or primary caregiver(s) who have informed the department that this is the space where they will cultivate marijuana.

Missouri Caregiver Rules for Cultivation

As a primary caregiver providing care for a qualifying patient, you can cultivate marijuana for your patient. It is crucial to note the rules for primary caregivers growing marijuana.

  • A caregiver – a parent or guardian – must be at least 21 years of age.
  • A patient or caregiver can apply for a Missouri medical cultivation license. Still, both the patient and caregiver cannot apply for different licenses to grow weed for the (same) patient.
  • A caregiver cannot use weed grown for a qualifying patient’s use for their consumption. And a patient cannot offer their medical marijuana to a caregiver.
  • A caregiver can cultivate marijuana for no more than two patients – six flowering plants each to make 12 plants. If the caregiver is also a patient, they can add six flowering plants to make 18 flowering plants.

LEARN MORE: The Missouri Medical Marijuana Caregiver Process

What Do I Need to Grow Medical Marijuana in Missouri?

Patients find that it is more convenient to grow their marijuana in the long run. It makes marijuana readily available for medical use and eases the rigors of treatment plans.

If you want to grow medical marijuana, then you must:

  • Have a Missouri medical marijuana card
  • Have a Missouri patient cultivation license or a cultivation license for the caregiver.
  • Be seen by a physician who uploads your physician certification form on the application portal.

Elevate Holistics makes it very easy and affordable for patients to get all they require to grow weed at home. Contact us today to talk with a Missouri state-authorized physician. Then, our experts can help you through the process of obtaining your license and setting up your own safe space to grow.